We Should Still Livestrong!

I have been listening to all the radio hype about the Lance Armstrong situation and I really have to say I am torn. Yes, I agree he is a fraud and should never be seriously looked at as a serious athlete again. Regardless of the fact that he was not the only player doping the way he handled it was less than commendable. For years he lied and even ruined people’s careers in order to keep his lie in tact. He was a selfish bully only looking to better himself and his own athletic achievements. In that I can agree with the radio.

However, the other part of Lance Armstrong is what has me torn. Lance Armstrong created an amazing foundation that gave hope to so many cancer survivors, Livestrong. With all the negative energy surrounding this athletic fraud, the foundation is sure to suffer. Jeff Tomczek at the Huffington post wrote, “I fully believe that founding the Livestrong organization was just another masked tool for feeding his ego and hiding his ugliness.” It is quotes like this that have me worried. Livestrong is a foundation that has helped so many people and just because there is an athletic episode going on does not mean this foundation should suffer.

The media needs to find a way to compartmentalize the two entities. Maybe even find a new face for Livestrong that will allow the foundation to thrive. So here is why I have turned to my bloggers. How many of you would still support this foundation knowing the athletic transgressions the founder has been through? If you would no longer support it, what would it take to get you behind the foundation again?

11 thoughts on “We Should Still Livestrong!

    • Well Pat, that sounded awfully guarded. I understand your position and this is why I think we need a new face for the foundation. I am sure many feel the way you do and it would be a shame to see all the hard work that went into building that foundation go to waste because of him.

  1. Hi Shae!

    I read your post last night, but wanted to get more information on this topic before I left a comment because I didn’t read up much on this.

    Last night I read several articles online and also watched parts of his interview with Oprah. And I have to say that I agree with your feelings. I think the media needs to find a way to separate the two, and as you shared…perhaps find a new face for the foundation. Because yes, what Lance did was not cool (to say the least), but his foundation has helped so many people, therefore I don’t think they should suffer for Lance’s misbehavior.

    And I have a feeling that the general public with see that.

    Great post topic, my friend!

    X

    • Hi Ron! I love that you researched this topic before responding! Very responsible blogging! And you are correct his behavior should not blemish a wonderful foundation. I think it is the medias responsibility to help promote foundations like that not try to ruin them.

  2. I think it’s ok to separate Armstong’s actions.

    Not everyone is all good or all bad…well okay, maybe Ghandi was all good and Hitler was all bad, but you know what I mean.

    The work he did with Livestrong was good work.

    Quite frankly, of all of his cycling behavior, I find the ruthlessness in his attacks against people who accused him of cheating the most deplorable.

    I get that he cheated. I get that he lied about it. I do not condone it, but I get it.

    But to tarnish the reputation of someone who was telling the TRUTH is simply wrong. I’ve been working on a blog bit about this very topic.

    Larry

Leave a comment