Flashback Friday: Make a Phone call!

On the radio the other day I heard a survey that peaked my interest. They surveyed a bunch of people and asked them what they use their phone for the most. Listening to the answers I got curious so I posted the same question on Facebook and the answers were basically the same.

Answers were mostly Email, Facebook, Apps, and texting. But clearly there is one thing missing. Making phone calls!

I don’t know about you, but as a kid I was the queen of the phone. I would spend hours upon hours talking to my friends about everything under the sun. I would stay up at night watching scary movies with my friends on the phone. We would get the same magazines and read them over the phone. Anything you can think of to talk about we would talk about over the phone.

Looking back my phone time was more than excessive. If the cordless phone was missing in the house it was certain to be somewhere in my room. It was even a battle many times on Christmas because the one gift I wanted but never got was a phone in my own room. My parents felt I didn’t need a phone in my room and it would just encourage me to be on the phone too much.

Looking at kids now it seems amazing I even talked on the phone at all. Most kids have not made a phone call more than a handful of times and if they do it is because an urgent text went unanswered. There are so many ways to communicate now that the phone call has become almost feared.

But I still think a personal phone call is an important part of any relationship. Nothing beats hearing someone’s voice and knowing how they are feeling. So that is why I chose today Flashback Friday to post this.

I charge all of you reading this blog to make a phone call today. Then to make this a little bigger than just this blog I want you to post a picture of it on a social media of your choice and let me know you did in the comments below.

If we can get even 10 people to make a phone call today that would have normally been a text, Facebook message or nothing at all, I think we accomplished something.

Flashback

So go make a call!

14 thoughts on “Flashback Friday: Make a Phone call!

  1. “I don’t know about you, but as a kid I was the queen of the phone. I would spend hours upon hours talking to my friends about everything under the sun. I would stay up at night watching scary movies with my friends on the phone. We would get the same magazines and read them over the phone. Anything you can think of to talk about we would talk about over the phone.”

    Shae, I laughed when I read that because when I was a kid, I was the same way. I was IN LOVE with the phone! When I got old enough, my parents gave me a phone (with my own number) so that I wouldn’t tie up the family phone. My first phone was exactly like the one you pictured here, except it wasn’t transparent, it was blue.

    “But I still think a personal phone call is an important part of any relationship. Nothing beats hearing someone’s voice and knowing how they are feeling.”

    Me too. However, texting seems to be taking its place 😦

    Love that photograph of you!!!!

    Have a super weekend, my friend X

    • I am glad you agree with me my friend. I used to get so excited when the phone rang thinking it could be for me. It is crazy how much time has changed now! Now it seems notifications are where kids get excited instead of actual human contact :/

  2. Like you and Ron, I was always on the phone as a teen. And if it rang, I ran for it, hoping it was for me. Oddly enough, when I began emailing, I began to hate making phone calls! Emails ( and now texts) seem so much quicker.

    My son does call me every Friday from college, so I did talk on the phone today!

    • Good for you! It is a great thing to try and remember to do but you are right emails and texting are faster and easier because you can do it while doing other things. Doesn’t take as much time outta the day.

  3. I was lucky enough to get my own phone line in my bedroom in high school, because my parents were so tired of me hogging the phone to talk to my girlfriend (or having friends call late, after they were already in bed). The phone line was so coveted that when I briefly moved out of the house, my brother in the adjoining bedroom drilled a hole through the wall and ran an extended phone line from the outlet into his room. Not sure why he didn’t just take my old room, but I was glad because I ended up moving back a few weeks later. Ahh, phones…

  4. My daughter’s phone rings so infrequently that I often don’t know what the sound is. You’re right – phone calls are a dying breed. But there are times where I much prefer talking on the phone than email or text, especially to close friends and family.

  5. I’m not surprised about the survey. We have condensed our lives so much into our smartphones that, of course, we don’t use them for what we boguht in the first place, make phone calls. 🙂 Great post. Thanks.

    Greetings from London.

  6. I don’t talk on the phone as much as I did as a teenager or in the years before email, but I definitely still do it. My daughter called me about 4 times yesterday and I usually talk with my husband at least a few times a week at work. A couple girlfriends and I still do chat on the phone, too. I am not much of a texter. I do it when I have to but try to keep it to a minimum. And do you want to hear something really wild??? I sent out a handwritten letter last week!! Whoa, mind-blowing, right? lol

Leave a Reply

