Chicken Puttaa…what? I am not Italian but trying!

So living with a boyfriend who grew up in an Italian household comes with its challenges. The big one is finding meals. One thing you will learn about me is red sauce makes my stomach turn. I am not sure what it is but the smell and the consistency do not sit well with me. So the only pasta dinners I generally make are with alfredo or just plain pasta with butter. However, this dish I decided to try since he was craving some of that Italian cooking. And you know what? I liked it!

We of course made a few adjustments to make it the perfect recipe for us. The first part that made me a little put off was the name Chicken Puttanesca with Angel Hair Pasta. I could not tell you what a Puttanesca is but I can tell you it is tasty!

For those who want the original recipe you can find it here.

For those who want to try my adapted recipe (small changes only) find it here:

Pasta Dinner

What you need:

1 box angel hair pasta

2 teaspoons olive oil

4 (6-ounce) skinless, boneless chicken breast halves
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 cups tomato-basil pasta sauce (such as Muir Glen Organic)
3 tablespoon capers
1/4 teaspoon crushed red pepper
2 teaspoons salt
2 teaspoons sugar
1 tablespoon oregano
What to do:
Cook pasta in salted water until al dente
In separate frying pan cook chicken until golden
Add remaining ingredients mixing well.
Combine when completed.
Simple and easy recipe! We bought Parm cheese to add but we forgot and it was just as good without it. Feel free to add it for a little extra taste. I have to say the red pepper gave it so much of a kick I didnt need the cheese at all!
And my favorite part? The capers! I was weary of them the first few times I tried them but they are certainly growing on me. The salt lover in me is dissapointed that I didn’t fall in love with them on first bite.
Try this recipe out this week and let me know what you thought!
17 thoughts on “Chicken Puttaa…what? I am not Italian but trying!

  1. YUM-MY, Shae! This sounds and looks so GOOD! As you know, I’m a huge pasta lover and angel hair is one of my faves. The only thing I would add to to mine if I made this would be the cheese. I don’t know if it’s because I’m Italian, but I have to have cheese with pasta dishes 🙂

    One of my favorite ways to eat pasta is not always with a red sauce. I like it with just simple olive oil (with cheese and black olives). In fact, last night that’s exactly what I had – pasta with olive oil.

    Thanks for sharing, my friend. Have a super week!
    X

  2. I prefer red sauce to alfredo, but definitely agree that sometimes simple is best: a little butter and parmesan makes a tasty dish! Nice touch with the capers, too. Tara can’t stand them but I’m a fan. I’ll have to add this to my dinner schedule someday!

  3. Funny thing here is that the first time I heard that name, puttanesca, was in Italy and I started cracking up. The waiter didn’t know why so I tried to explain to him in my best Itaian (which I can’t speak, but hey, Spanish, French and a tiny bit of Portuguese, all help in the end) that in Spanish the word for “whore” is “puta”, so suddenly here was someone bigging the “whore” up to the max. 🙂

    Your dish looks deliciious. Thanks.

    Greetings from London.

Leave a Reply

