Craig David via Ed Sheeran?

Have you ever heard a song that reminds you so much of music you liked when you were younger that you just can’t stop listening to it? That is exactly what happened to me when I heard Ed Sheeran’s new song “Don’t”. For days I was searching the radio channels looking for this song because it just put me in a good mood. I could not figure out why this song made me so happy. Especially because the song isn’t exactly upbeat in the lyrics department. The song is about a guy who is cheated on by a girl. But nonetheless I would turn the volume all the way up and sing every word.

After about the 100x listening to the song I realized that it was the accent that was perking me up. But I have heard plenty of Ed Sheeran songs and this one just had something more to it. So the accent couldn’t be everything. And then I figured it out…Ed Sheeran reminded me of Craig David.

Now even people my age don’t remember Craig David. For the most part he was a one hit wonder. But I bought his CD and fell in love with every song. I think his voice mixed with the beats of his songs just hit the right chord with me. Whatever it was I was totally obsessed with his album and Ed Sheeran brought me right back to that happy place.

I thought this happy place was a great way to start the Monday and I wanted to try and get some of you bloggers there as well. Let me know what current song has brought you back in time to a favorite artist or song and what is it about them that just reminds you so much of that other artist?

I then charge you to go on Youtube and find both songs to start off your Monday. I will leave you with mine below!

Happy Monday!

Craig David- “Fill Me In”

Ed Sheeran- “Don’t”

13 thoughts on “Craig David via Ed Sheeran?

  1. Ok, I know this is not the same thing, but……….I Love the Foo Fighters cover of ‘Baker Street’ originally performed by Gerry Rafferty in the late 70’s. Completely different sound, but totally takes me back!

  2. Shae, you’re right…they are very similar! I enjoyed both these video clips!!

    One of my favorite songs that takes me back is “Young Hearts Run Free” by Candi Staton:

    Another one is “Summer Fling” by K.D. Lang:

    I love the sound of K.D. Lang’s voice!

    Fun post, my friend. Have a super week!

    X

  3. Oh, what a throwback that was. The Craigstar! ๐Ÿ™‚ I don’t dig Ed, too “soft” for my liking. I did dig Craig back in the day (can you believe it? That I am saying “back in the day”?) You’re right, one-hit wonder. One-album wonder, actually. Good record, though, but… well.. if you don’t keep at it, you go down the David Gray route. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Greetings from London.

  4. I can definitely see that happening and hear the similarities between the two. I thought I’d share my experience with Bob Dylan voicegangers. This is Bob Dylan’s Tangled Up In Blue:
    . Now, he’s been around since the 60’s. Then in the early 80’s, I heard this singer, and could swear it was Bob Dylan. . It was Tom Petty. Then again, later in the 80’s, I heard this musician, and thought it was Bob Dylan.
    It’s Mark Knopfler of Dire Straits. They both sound so much like Bob Dylan, and to this day, enjoy them all.

    I also wanted to thank you for sharing your reflections on my poem I Wanted A Perfect Ending. It’s so very true, when you least expect it, one can receive the ultimate.
    Thank you for stopping by cestlavie, and it was very nice meeting you. Petra :))

  5. Oops, it seems Tangled Up In Blue by Bob Dylan came up three times although I imbedded Runnin Down A Dream, Tom Petty, and Sultans of Swing, Dire Straits’ Mark Knopfler. I wonder what happened. It definitely spoiled the effect. :((

Leave a Reply

