Is There A Such Thing As Too Confident?

In a world where many people are facing so much insecurity it is generally refreshing to see someone confident and sure of themselves. That is why Jennifer Lawrence is one of my favorite actresses. She is down to earth, confident and really doesn’t care what the popular opinion is about her. This is definitely the type of role models Hollywood should be providing rather than the Lindsay Lohan wannabes that seem to be flooding our media.

However, is there a such thing as too confident? Recently there was an epic twitter battle with Kanye West and Jimmy Kimmel because Kanye West referred to himself as a “genius” and Jimmy Kimmel went on his show to parody it. The video featured a few kids speaking the exact words that Kanye used. The video set Kanye West off and a fight ensued. I wanted to share the video on this blog post but it appears it has been taken down. This however furthers my point, is there a such thing as being too confident?

When Jimmy was defending his spoof he said : “I don’t know if you know this, but a lot of people think you’re a jerk,” Jimmy said. “When you said you’re a genius, I think that upsets people. But the truth is a lot of people think they’re geniuses, but nobody says it because it’s weird to say. But it is most certainly more honest to say, ‘I am a genius.’

Jimmy has a really good point here, a lot of people may think they are a genius but saying it out loud makes you seem a bit cocky. Its great to be confident but to be rude about it becomes another thing. At least that is what Jimmy seems to feel. However Kanye has a different view:

““I’m totally weird and totally honest and I’m totally inappropriate sometimes,” Kanye said. “And the thing is for me not to say I’m not a creative genius I’d be lying to you and to myself.”

Here is where I am torn. I am all for honesty. I believe it is better to hurt someone with the truth than to comfort them with a life. But in matters like this, isn’t it all a matter of opinion? I mean Kanye is not waving around an IQ test that scientifcally proves he is a genius. Rather he believes he is one because he has been successful in his endeavors thus far. And while I say good for him I also say, does the world really need to hear about it so bluntly? Can’t his critics and fans sing his praises? Why does he need to be the one to toot his own horn? Its just seems a little excessive to me.

But in this day and age so many people are battling their own demons they really do need to be able to look up to someone who loves themselves and isn’t afraid of it. I just don’t know when too far is too far. Bloggers what do you think?

One thing I know for sure is this girl has the right idea 🙂

12 thoughts on “Is There A Such Thing As Too Confident?

  1. A confident person doesn’t need to toot their own horn. People like Kanye need to build themselves up because they lack inner confidence.

    I’m sorry I missed the Kimmel video! Good for him to call out an obnoxious celebrity.

  2. Shae, you always come up with some of the most thought-provoking post topics, like this one!

    “In a world where many people are facing so much insecurity it is generally refreshing to see someone confident and sure of themselves.”

    Yes, I agree with you 100%.

    I haven’t seen the video you speak of, so I can’t share my feelings on it. However, I think there’s a difference between confidence and arrogance. Confidence is something quite, arrogance is some loud. So if a person is confident, they really don’t have to say anything.

    But I also believe that if someone should give me a compliment about something, I should be willing to say thank you and graciously accept it, without feeling that I need to be shy about it. I think it’s a healthy thing to know that you might be good at something.

    And I LOVE the video clip you shared. I agree, she has the right idea!

    Have a super weekend, girl!
    X

  3. Confidence doesn’t need to be said, he was just tooting his own horn, looking for lackeys to support him and kiss is butt, saying oh yes you are and blah blah blah to try and raise his ego up.

  4. I think when someone toots their own horn to say they’re a genius other people think they’re really saying, ‘I think I’m so much better than you’. I agree with Bijoux – if you have to tell people this, you lack inner confidence…

  5. There is a fine line between confidence and arrogance. And different people have different opinions as to where that line is.

  6. First off kanye is just an arrogant prick who has a history of shit like this. Confidence is believing in yourself and going out doing whatever it may be and letting what you did standing on its own merit. Not needing to prove anything or brag about it. Kanye needs to be brought down about a hundred notches as far as i’m concerned. Anyway being to confident no there is no such thing because when it gets to the point of not living up to it its no longer confidence its arrogance. For example look at the most recent super bowl. Denver went in there full of arrogance because they have Peyton manning and look what happened to them.

Leave a Reply

