“They Had it Coming…”

Okay so remember last week when I wrote about short people problems in the snow? Well I am not only short but I am also impatient. Impatient people do not get along with the snow either! So I am double screwed!

Anyways this past week there was a major snow storm. One of those storms where the snow is thick, wet, and heavy. But the next day I needed my morning coffee (and trust me not a single soul would want me to be without it). So I went outside (after letting the car warm up for a good 15 minutes) and I started plugging away at the snow on my car. Trouble is, I am short, weak and not patient. Oh and did I mention that I don’t have gloves or anything other than a jacket to keep me warm while doing this (this is my own fault, I swear gloves are like socks as soon as someone buys them for me they are lost).

Why is this NEVER me?

Anyways after multiple shifts of pushing the snow off with a scraper, sitting in my car to warm up, and repeat. I got very impatient. I really thought most of the snow was cleared and the rest could be taken care of by my handy windshield wipers. I really believe it is their own fault. They lulled me into a false sense of security with all the dependable snow storms. There has been so many times I havent even bothered clearing the car at all because my loyal windshield wipers were there to clear the car for me. They were so strong, dependable and convienent. But my friends, the set me up to FAIL!

When I flipped that little wiper switch, NOTHING HAPPENED! All I heard was some clicking noises but not movement. I begrudgingly got out of the car and finished clearing the car hoping that the clicking was just their warning cry. You know, “I’m trapped, come save me!”. However, when I finished clearing the windshield and tried the switch again…nothing, just clicking.

I told my auto mechanic of a boyfriend and he diagnosed it as a broken wiper transmission. Price tag? $150! And thats with a discount and my boyfriends free labor! My boyfriend gave me a speech about being more careful but all I heard was Chicago’s “They had it coming, they had it coming, they only had themselves to blame. You should’ve been there. You should’ve seen it. I betcha you would have done the same!”

Should’ve tried this line!

So bloggers, tell em I’m wrong! Have you ever landed in a similar snow debacle?

 

 

13 thoughts on ““They Had it Coming…”

  1. I have never heard of a broken wiper transmission. I have had my wipers stuck frozen to the windshield and repeatedly sat in my car turning them on and off to no avail, but I didn’t do any damage. I’m confused how it could be your fault?

    • Apparently the wiper transmission breaks when there is too much weight on the wiper when you try to use it. So basically I didnt clear enough snow before turning it on. I still blame them though!

  2. “(and trust me not a single soul would want me to be without it).”

    HA! Shae, I’m the same way! God, don’t anybody even speak to me before I’ve had my morning coffee!

    WOW…I’ve never heard of broken wiper transmission. Maybe because it’s been so cold this winter, the low temps damaged them!? And yikes….$150.!?!?!

    LOVED your reference to the movie “Chicago” and the song….”He had it coming!” That’s one of my favorite numbers from the movie!

    ” Have you ever landed in a similar snow debacle?”

    Well, since I live in a city and don’t own a car, the only snow debacle I’ve encountered is having my dress shoes destroyed while walking to work in the snow.

    Have a super week, girl. Great post!
    X

    • Don’t down play the tragedy of ruined dress shoes! A good pair of shoes is hard to find and mother nature has no business messing with them! Glad you enjoyed the post Ronnie always great when you pop by!

  3. Yikes! Snow grief is one of the many things I don’t miss about driving. I complain about the subways in New York, but they do get you where you want to go…eventually.

    Worst snow experience–which was my own damn fault–happened about 20 years ago when I was living in Connecticut. I didn’t properly clean off my windshield before getting on to I-84 (I’m impatient, too!) and wound up crashing into one of those safety barrels set up for…people who crash. I wasn’t hurt, thank God, but it cost me a lot of money!

  4. Shae, you gotta make sure your wipers can move freely, and not frozen to the windshield before you turn em on. If not, it can fry the wiper motors or strip something. That’s why I lift the wipers off the windshield before the snow hits. It looks silly but there is a point to it.

Leave a Reply

