Short People Problems: Snow Edition

I am sure I have said this before, but I am short! Not just kinda short, nope I am pretty close to being a midget. I am actually five feet and one and 1/2 inches. And yes that 1/2 is super important!

Now for the most part I enjoy being short. There are plenty of perks. But there are also plenty of times when my height becomes a problem. I am sure there will be other posts on this subject but for now I would like to talk about why short people have problems with the snow.

I live in Massachusetts and this winter we have been through quite a few snow storms with more than just a few inches of snow. I hate snow for a lot of reasons but some of these reasons certainly stem from being short. Here are my three short person gripes about snow:

1) You can’t walk anywhere that isn’t plowed:

As a short person if the snow exceeds a couple of inches walking around becomes a chore! The snow creeps up your pant leg and try as you might trudging becomes pretty much hopeless. If you do manage to struggle your way through the snow you will get to go home with pants completely soaked through and socks to match. Short people here’s my tip: keep dry socks and pants handy in the event of an unexpected snow storm. You will thank me later!

2) Snow on the top of your car taunts you:

Yes people I realize driving on the highway with snow on the roof of your car is dangerous! No one wants to unload their roof snow onto an unsuspecting car behind you. But what do you do when you drive a Rav 4, you are ridiculously short and aren’t graceful enough to balance on your car while pushing with a broom? Even if you manage to get the balance needed to climb the car it is likely you will unleash your own personal snow storm on yourself as you try to clear the roof of your car. But shorties out there I am sorry this is an evil we must endure. My advice? Get a tall boyfriend- he will take care of this for you and if he doesn’t get a different tall boyfriend!

3) Snowman building:

Alright in New England you learn that you might hate the snow but sometimes the best way to deal with it is enjoy it. Snowman building is a great way to do that. But I don’t know about you but when I build a snowman I want it to be seen. In order for that to happen it can’t be a midget! However, to make the snowman tall enough to get attention, I would need to get a snowball head above my head. Trust me that isn’t easy. Plus you gotta get his hat, eyes, nose, mouth, and scarf on. So short stuff if you are looking to build a snowman maybe considering building a sturdy snow ladder first. Otherwise enjoy your midget snowman, someone has to.

Now this is a snowman I would like to build!

Any other peanuts out there want to share their gripes with the snow?

20 thoughts on “Short People Problems: Snow Edition

  1. I am tall, but one of my daughters is about your size, and I feel bad for her every time she tries to buy pants. I never thought about the snow on top of the car, but I can see how impossible it would be. It’s been a brutal winter for peeps of any size!

  2. “Now for the most part I enjoy being short. There are plenty of perks.”

    I’m short too, Shae, (5′-7″) and I actually like being shorter because you don’t take up much space, so you fit in easier (such as airplane seats).

    However, I agree with you about the snow. Yet, we don’t get much deep snow here in the city. But when I lived more in the burbs, yes, you get buried in a large snow drift.

    Loved you photos. WOW…I can’t believe the snow on top of that car!!!!

    Have a super Monday, girl!
    X

  3. Poor lil shortly lol ๐Ÿ˜›
    you should invest in snow shoes then the trek to get coffee wouldn’t be so bad. And whats the use of having a tall boyfriend if he doesn’t take the time to clear off your car before he leaves in the morning…..hope that didn’t go overlooked.
    its settled next snow storm we’re making a huge snow man. I’m always down to play in the snow.

    • Shoes don’t have anything to do with where I get my coffee. I go where its made the best.

      As for the bf he generally gets up with like ten minutes to go before work. Asking him to clear my car when I am currently home all day is kinda silly.

  4. On the bright side, when you build a snow fort you don’t need to build the walls as high as your taller friends do. You’ll be done first, and so you can launch the first snow ball…

  5. Shae! This is a very funny post because as you know, I can TOTALLY relate. As being a 5 foot 5 and 1/2 (and yes, that half is VERY important!) guy, I agree with you! I just have a very long broom to brush off the snow! But if you pile up the snow into a mound, you can climb it so you can reach to top of your car or put the head on your snowman. But I guess getting a tall boyfriend works too! I guess that explains why I always made snow turtles, birds and other animals instead of snowmen. But there are perks with being short too, such as we are cute! ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. I’m a bit…un-tall myself at 5’7″ but snow doesn’t bother more than anyone else. I would still loathe the winter if I were seven foot tall. Thanks for the tip about the socks and pants!

Leave a Reply

