Breakfast at Tiffany’s!

After watching multiple posts on my friend Ronnie’s blog, I decided it was time to finally see Breakfast at Tiffany’s. All I can say is *swoon*. There is so much about that movie that shows we are in a different time but there is still so much to relate to.

To start with, Audrey Hepburn is just flawless. From her appearance, to her acting skills to her voice. Everything about her was just phenomenal. But as with most movies I don’t like to just do a movie review. I like to pick out a part of the movie that spoke to me and explain why. So the part of the movie that spoke to me was something Audrey said:

 “No. The blues are because you’re getting fat and maybe it’s been raining too long, you’re just sad that’s all. The mean reds are horrible. Suddenly you’re afraid and you don’t know what you’re afraid of. Do you ever get that feeling?”

I had to pause the movie and re-listen to what she said. “The mean reds”. That is the exact feeling I have been having as of late. Things are definitely changing around me. I have been laid off for the 3rd time in 3 years. I am working a direct sales business. And I am doing side jobs to keep my head above water.

Do I have the blues? No, I am really not sad. But the mean reds? You better believe I do. One minute I will be excited about the opportunities ahead and the next I am petrified with no real justifiable reason. Probably because it isn’t stable. Maybe because it is different. All I know is that I am scared and there is very little I can do but swallow it and accept it.

For Audrey her mean reds came from the fear of commitment, the fear of being herself, and the fear of letting herself fall in love. She was all wrapped up in fear that she really never was happy. I am not that far along just yet but after watching it I am certain I won’t let myself get there. She almost lost a pretty great man because of this fear.

Fear holds you back. Fear creates a road block. But positive thinking and positive energy creates a path to success. It might seem crazy, it might seem impossible. But it is there if you are willing to think positive and be happy!

Don’t let the mean reds get you! Do as Audrey eventually did and let go and be happy! It is the only way to move forward in life!

Thank you “Breakfast at Tiffany’s” for an amazing life lesson!

17 thoughts on “Breakfast at Tiffany’s!

  1. OMG Shae, I am sooooooooo happy to hear that you watched Breakfast at Tiffany’s and enjoyed it!!! Isn’t it a GREAT film? And I love what you highlighted as something from the film that spoke to you because there are many layers to this story that contain some great lessons.

    “Fear holds you back. Fear creates a road block. But positive thinking and positive energy creates a path to success. It might seem crazy, it might seem impossible. But it is there if you are willing to think positive and be happy!

    Don’t let the mean reds get you! Do as Audrey eventually did and let go and be happy! It is the only way to move forward in life!”

    I freaking LOVE what you said! Brava! And you are so right! I went through the same thing last year with my job (the fear, the uncertainty), but it all worked out for the best because I ended up getting an even better job. So keep the faith, my friend, and stay positive!

    Have a super week!
    x

    • Ron you always inspire me! I am so glad I took you advice and watched this movie! A re-watch might be in the works soon! Things are so much better now and I couldnt have done it without going through the bad first!

  2. Oh man, Shae, I’m sorry to hear about all the job issues. And I’m sure the weather hasn’t been helping your overall outlook. I’m glad the movie was inspiring to you.

  3. Ugg to the job. Hopefully things will turn around soon. Watched it a long while ago, a good one indeed. As far as ear goes, have little at my sea, but if I do, that just makes me want to do what I’m afraid of more.

  4. Bummer about the job, but I like your positive attitude and reflections on the movie and life. I have never seen Breakfast at Tiffany’s all the way through, can you believe it? I’ll have to make more effort to stay with it next time it’s on!

  5. Shae, I’m so sorry about the job situation I wish you all the best.

    I really admire your courage and your commitment to fighting those “mean reds”–they’re the worst!

    My father used to say “scared money never won”–in other words don’t let your fear block your vision. It’s not easy by any means, but just put one foot in front of the other and keep walking toward your dream.

  6. Oh, the mean reds! I’m not familiar with the expression (I have seen Breakfast At Tiffany’s’ but it was a long, long time ago) but I somehow know exactly what she means! I get the mean reds, oh, yes I do!

Leave a Reply

