American Sniper

The one thing I worry about as I type this post is downplaying the importance of this movie. So I want to start by saying that American Sniper is a powerful movie. It is a true story and the people really did live out these experiences. I have more respect for the men in this war then I could ever portray. That being said, a movie will always make a person reflect on themselves and their own lives. That is the power of artistic representation of life. I want to talk about how this movie made me think.

This movie is about the one war I can honestly say I lived through. I think all of us can remember 9/11. For me I was only in the 8th grade. I remember that day like it was yesterday. But this movie really made me think how blessed I really am.

The main character of this movie, Chris Kyle, was a sniper. This movie, unlike many war movies I have seen, really went into how the war affected his personal life. His life with his wife and family. As the movie went on I realized how close I came to living a life just like this. I am so blessed that my life turned out differently but the reasons why don’t seem like blessings.

The boyfriend I have now, the man I plan to be with for some time wanted to be in the armed forces. I think he would have chosen the army. Being two years older than I he would have been a prime candidate for the War on Iraq. And he would have loved doing it.

As I watched the movie I saw the similarities. The passion to help others. The thirst for war. The determination. The inability to see beyond the action of the moment. And the difficulty of detaching.

But I was blessed. My boyfriend did not make it into the armed services. In actuality he hurt his back horsing around when he was younger and was unable to enlist. While I am not happy that he will have a life long injury I am happy he ended up having to remain home.

If he had gone to war there is a good chance we would have never met. If we did meet the chances we would make it were slim. I don’t think I could have ever been as strong as Chris Kyle’s wife in the movie. I don’t know if I could have done all that she did.

This movie really showed how strong the women had to be for their men. How powerful a loving home could be for these men.

I don’t know if this post seems selfish and if it does that is in no way my intent.

What I mean by that is this movie really showed me the type of person it took to be in this war. The type of person they needed to stand by their side. And I have so much more respect for them now seeing that.

Because I don’t know that I could have been that person.

18 thoughts on “American Sniper

  1. I think your reaction is probably more meaningful than the movie itself, and I enjoyed reading. If you read Kyle’s book, you’ll discover the movie adaptation is chock full of stuff made up to increase the drama.

    There never was a roof-jumping, ex-Olympian super villian named Mustafa, the “miracle shot” was made against a random target, Chris never killed a child, and dozens of other events placed onscreen to produce Hollywood Magic.

    It’s NOT a true story, which is why they always use the catch-all phrase “based on”. It’s a meaningful and entertaining myth. Myths are useful and powerful too though. There’s really no such thing as an objectively accurate autobiography in the first place. No one can remember their own life with full candor. We always make ourselves more heroic, and conveniently downplay our own shortcomings and transgressions.

    • I am actually reading the book now, and you are right, it is very different. I actually am not even sure I would have liked the Chris Kyle as he portrays himself in the book. But that doesn’t take away the power of the movie. The impact it had on me still remains. Thank you for commenting on this and stopping by my blog. I do hope you return someday!

  2. I don’t think you’re being selfish at all, Shae. No one wants to see their loved ones go off to war, especially since when most wars–particularly the last ones–are based on lies and deception. If everyone were “selfish” in the way you describe then the war profiteers would go bankrupt. And that would be a good thing.

  3. Shae, I have not yet seen this movie but I’ve heard great things. And no, I don’t think this post sounds selfish at all. In fact, I think it’s a beautiful post. And I loved the quote you shared. It reminded me of the movies I’ve watched that took place during WWII and the men who went off to war as their wives stayed home. Yes, definitely, the women had to be very strong for their men. Not easy.

    Great post topic, my friend!
    X

    • Thank you Ron! This movie touched me in many ways and I had to share my thoughts! I am overwhelmed with the positive comments I have received I really expected more of a negative backlash! So happy it didnt turn out that way!

  4. I enjoyed your post as well. I don’t know much about the movie, and frankly, it’s the type I avoid. But it’s fascinating to think of the ‘what ifs’ of life and I’m glad yours has a happy ending.

  5. I appreciate your honesty, Shae – no need to apologize. One of my closest friends was a Navy wife for a decade, and I know the sacrifices that she had to make – even without her husband at war.

  6. Ooh, yikes… should I share my comment. Well, wait, I think I already am. lol
    Okay, I can appreciate you feeling as strongly as you do. You present your thoughts so well… but, I disliked the book/movie so much based on all I read about them that I think I’m just missing your whole point. For that, I’m sorry.
    I have family/friends that have served in one branch or another. I’m not anti-military. I’m patriotic (to an extent). I have great sadness and concern for those who have been, and still are, used the way they are militarily.
    I get that this movie was just supposed to be basically one man’s perspective and not a pro-war or anti-whatever film. But, as with so many topics that just end up falling to one side or the other … republican vs. democrat … I saw some propaganda there.
    Okay, any other thoughts on this I’ll stick to my own blog to voice. 🙂

    • We are all entitled to our own opinion Mary. I totally respect your comment. I know many people that feel the way you do about this. I didn’t see it that way but it could have just been because I come at it from another angle. Thank you for sharing your thoughts!

Leave a Reply

