The Interview

I know I have been spotty blogging lately with the holidays. I promise I will work on that! Once schedules get back to normal I will be back to my regular blogging schedule. Now on to the post…

The Interview. Now I debated about writing on this topic. Clearly it is extremely controversial and I don’t want to stir up any unwanted negativity. But I think it is a precedent setting event that is worth talking about. As a writer (if blogging counts as writing) I find that free speech is an important thing to protect. I understand that free speech only protects us from Government censorship but I think the spirit of it can be found in this.

For those who don’t know (were you living under a rock?) The Interview is a movie starring James Franco and Seth Rogen and depicts the fictional assassination of Koren dictator Kim Jung- Un. The movie is meant to be a light-hearted comedy. But the hackers who got into Sony’s database did not take it that way.

The hackers got in to many of Sony’s personal files. Leaked them. And then threatened a “9/11 style attack” for any theaters that released the movie on Christmas day. This panic caused all theaters to pull the movie. Eventually smaller indie theaters took the movie back and it was released on Christmas in smaller theaters and online.

But what kind of message does this send? That we will back down from threats from other countries? That is a very dangerous precedent to set.

I have heard a lot of arguments that the making of the movie was irresponsible. And while that may be true ( I have not yet seen it) the movie should have been pulled before it was even created if that was the case. Since the movie made it to release it should have been released. That is the end of it. Regardless if it is an awful movie it passed all screenings up until release so it should have been released.

Pulling it because of threats shows other countries that we will bend to them if they threaten us. How do we know in which way they will use that on us next? We can not show a weakness in this type of scenario.

Should we be careful what type of content our movies depict, sure. But this is America and even bad movies have a right to be shown.

What do you bloggers think? Have any of you actually seen it?

12 thoughts on “The Interview

  1. Is there any film that would not offend somebody somewhere? There are those who are offended by Disney films and even the most seemingly innocent family friendly films. Too bad. If we worry about those we are going to upset or offend then why have any entertainment at all? Why have opinions? Why even communicate with others or even think for that matter? There are always those who will be at odds with others and how does one ever remedy that?

    Lee
    Tossing It Out

    • So stop on Arlee! I absolutely love everything you said here! We have a right to our own opinions and freedom of expression so we need to not worry about who we offend. A movie is made for entertainment and you cannot entertain everyone the same way!

  2. Shae, I seem to remember reading something online about this move months ago but haven’t followed the story, so I don’t know as much about it as you do.

    I have to agree with Arlee Bird, there is always going to be someone offended by a film, or even a book. I think we’ve gone too far to the other side in trying to be too “politically correct”, in fear that our opinions will offend someone. I think there is a way to express our opinions and do it with honesty without it being malicious. I’ve not seen this film, so I can’t say how I feel about its delivery. But I have to say that I like both the actors who are in it.

    Have a great week, my friend!
    X

  3. There will always be someone who gets offended. So screw it and release it. Don’t back down in hostage situations, but back down for a movie that is fake, riiight pfffft lol I heard the movie sucks anyway, as in sucks because it is badly made, not because of the crap.

  4. Agreed, Shae. I can’t stand Seth Rogen and, frankly, this movie looks pretty stupid. But people have a right to make stupid movies without being threatened by cyber-psychos. Screw those lowlifes.

    • Exactly. I know so many people who said the movie shouldve just been pulled because it looked dumb anyways. But for me that is not the point. Dumb or not they had a right to make it and show it.

  5. I’m surprised people are using the word ‘offended’……..nobody was offended. The people of North Korea don’t even have the Internet. Jung is a crazy ass dictator who thinks he can take over the world. It’s ridiculous that the US allowed any of this to happen.

Leave a Reply

