I admit- I am a kill joy!

I know many of you bloggers enjoyed the Pharrel Williams song “Because I’m Happy.” I also know that when I commented on your posts about it I also mentioned that I did not care for it. I am not sure if it was because it was just way too up beat for me or if it was merely that the song got on my nerves. Either way I did not care for the song.

But then I watched the Lego Movie.

In that movie the “average guy” lego was obsessed with the song “Everything is Awesome.” The “lego master” girl that he falls in love with was highly irritated by the song. And I realized that in the lego movie I would be the “lego master” girl without all the awesome abilities. But in the movie it was showing that when someone is clouded by experiences they tend to be jaded and not be able to appreciate the simple things, like that song. That would explain my life. A song about being happy just doesn’t resonate with me because I spend my time caught up in everything else I don’t take the time to just be happy.

The songs really mirror each other and it was amazing to me how similar they are yet no one has pointed it out.

Here are just a few similarities:

Because I’m Happy: “Here come bad news talking this and that, yeah,/Well, give me all you got, and don’t hold it back, yeah,/
Well, I should probably warn you I’ll be just fine, yeah,

Everything is Awesome: “Lost my job, there’s a new opportunity/ More free time for my awesome community.”

They both show that even though bad things happen there is always a positive way to look at it.

Because I’m Happy:”Because I’m happy”

Everything is Awesome: “Everything is awesome,”

Their title repeats over and over and over and over throughout the song. Just in case it didn’t sink in the first 100x…

And both songs are very insistent that nothing will change how they feel. They are happy because everything is awesome and nothing will get in the way of that!

                          

 

I think after seeing this movie and comparing the two songs I need to take the time to enjoy the simple things. I need to be able to just be happy and see how awesome life is. The songs might be irritating but their point is clear. Life is too short to not be happy.

 

So be happy my friends and happy Friday!

 

14 thoughts on “I admit- I am a kill joy!

  1. I don’t mind the upbeat songs, but I’m a killjoy when it comes to ‘inspirational’ quotes and books and the like. It just makes me roll my eyes. I have no idea why it gets on my nerves, but I’ve never liked that sort of thing. When teachers have assignments about writing about someone who inspires you, I could never come up with anyone!

  2. Shae, I love this post because you shared something very wise and enlightening…

    “A song about being happy just doesn’t resonate with me because I spend my time caught up in everything out I don’t take the time to just be happy.”

    And I think that’s something we all do at times, we forget to take time to just be happy for the things we have in our lives to be grateful for. I know for me, whenever I’m going through a challenging time, if I focus on what I have in my life to be grateful for, I feel happy.

    I really like your comparison to both songs. And you’re right!

    “Life is too short to not be happy.”

    Great post, my friend. And thank you for the reminder!

    Have a super weekend!
    X

  3. I saw the Lego movie with my grandchildren and husband, and while I didn’t particularly like the song, I did like being with them. And the Happy song, I like, but enough already. LOL Play it one more time and I might not feel so happy. haha
    Good comparisons. I think taking time to enjoy the simpler things would be great for us all to try and do more often.

  4. First of all, I appreciate your honesty. And your humility. It’s easy to get caught up in the drama. It’s easy to keep track of traumas and hard moments. It’s work to retrain ourselves into a new habit. 45 days and it’s yours, though! You can do it. You don’t strike me as a gal who takes the ‘easy way out’. :-/

    • Thank you so much Mel! You are right re-training yourself to alter your outlook is tough! But so far I have been doing pretty good. It is just hard when obstacles come by because my happy outlook begins to wobble a bit…

  5. “Life is too short to not be happy.”

    Oh, Shae, this is such an excellent post! I, too, need to take time to enjoy the simple things in life.

    Our vision is so important–if you are determined to see the good things in life and, if you elect to see only the bad things, well, that’s all you’ll see.

  6. it takes many people years to realize happiness comes from within. They spend all this time assuming if they could just find a significant other, make more money, win the lottery, find a job they like…that they’ll be happy. Some people may go their entire lives without figuring that out.

Leave a Reply

