Happy Eat Your Veggies Day!

Since June 17th is Eat Your Veggies Day, I decided it would be fun to do a post on some of the most awkward veggies to eat. As a kid I hated vegetables. When my parents would send me to the basement to pick the vegetable for dinner I would ALWAYS pick corn. EVERY TIME! But as I grew up I started to like a few different kinds of veggies but it doesn’t mean I can eat them with a straight face.

Here are the ones that come quickly to mind in order of most normal to weirdest!

5) Carrots- Every time I eat these I just want to say “Whats up Doc?” but then I realize that most of the kids in my life would have no idea what I am referring to a most of the adults would just think it was a sad and pathetic reference.

4) Spinach- I have always wanted to suck down a whole can of this stuff and watch my muscles pop up all over my arms. Sadly this has never worked yet for me and this makes eating this a sad time.

3) Tomatoes- Because every time the juice squirts me in the back of my throat I am reminded that I am not eating a gusher and the mild choking feeling will not be rewarded by sour goodness.

2) Brocoli- Any way you eat this you look like you are defiling a tree. In this “green” era you gotta be careful how you treat the arbor life.

1) Celery- Even if you coat this sucker with some lucious peanut butter, sticking a long tubular object down your throat never looks classy. Remember that ladies.

So now that you have had a great chuckle at the veggies expense celebrate this veggie day with a mound of the best stuff for your body! Bloggers, what is your favorite veggie?

 

20 thoughts on “Happy Eat Your Veggies Day!

  1. I’m weird in that I like most veggies, but preferably cooked, like roasted broccoli. I hate Lima beans and am not a big fan of Brussels sprouts. My husband loves corn, but I tell him it’s not really a veggie, it’s a starch! Haha,

  2. Shae, I LOVE the graphic of the veggies, it’s HILARIOUS!!!!

    Like you, I don’t like carrots or broccoli (especially RAW). Nor, do I like mushrooms or brussel sprouts – ewwwwwwwww!

    Some of my favorites are cucumbers, snow peas, and all kinds of beans.

    GREAT post, girl! Have a super weekend!

    X

  3. NO to broccoli… it makes me STINKY.
    I don’t like lima beans… and probably one or two other veggies… but love all the rest of them. Even brussel sprouts.

  4. I love all vegies, but my favourite is tomato. Interestingly enough the tomato comes from the Deadly Nightshade family and the stalks and leaves are poisonous – yikes…

  5. Celery is the one food in which you burn more calories eating than you get! Unfortunately, I always feel compelled to add peanut butter. Or Ranch. Does anyone else remember Easy Cheese? It was awesome with celery, but I’m not sure that stuff exists anymore. Cheese in a can…gee, who would have thought THAT idea wouldn’t last forever?!

  6. Love this post, Shae! I hated vegetables as a child, which drove my poor parents crazy. Now I can’t get enough of them. As for my favorite, well, I recently added kale to my diet and I’m really enjoying it. But like all my other favorites, this is subject to change.

  7. I despised broccoli as a child, but love it now. Go figure! Corn on the cob, green beans, and asparagus are a few of my faves. Really, the only veggie I absolutely despise is cauliflower.

Leave a Reply

