Butterscotch Coffee Cake

Living with nut allergies can be a pain. Especially when you find a recipe that not only looks delicious but most of the ingredients are already in your house. That is what happened to me last weekend. I was doing my usual blog hopping and stumbled across a blog with a Sour Cream Coffee Cake recipe that was calling my name. I went through my cupboards and realized besides the nuts, I had all the ingredients I needed. So I suddenly was in debate.

Generally with nuts in a recipe I just leave them out. For the most part they are for flavor so they wont be missed. But in this recipe they really made up the crumble topping. I debated using graham crackers but that didn’t seem to fit with the recipe. So I started racking my brain for something that could be used as a nice topping.

I settled on butterscotch baking chips. And I have to tell you it was a great decision. I followed the rest of recipe to the T (even but in the cinnamon after much deliberation) and you know what? It was fantastic! It was a bit sweet for breakfast but no sweeter than a donut.

I do not want to post the recipe on my blog as the only alteration that is my own is the butterscotch. If you want to try the recipe for yourself please grab the recipe from The Real Thing with the Coake Family, and make sure you comment and let them know I sent you!

Coffee Cake

So bloggers, can you think of something else that the nuts can be subbed for in this recipe? I am thinking there must be other great variations just waiting to be tried out!

16 thoughts on “Butterscotch Coffee Cake

  1. That was a good idea! It must be a real nuisance to deal with having a nut allergy. Especially when the product you are buying doesn’t have nuts, but the label says it’s made with machinery that also uses nuts.

  2. Hey Shae, that’s a GREAT substitute you came up with! And I happen to LOVE the taste of butterscotch, so I know I would have enjoyed this coffee cake.

    I had a friend in Florida who had a nut allergy as well. And he had it severely. In fact, whenever he went to a restaurant to eat, he carried a small plastic case that contained an antidote syringe.

    Have a FAB week, my friend!

    X

  3. I bet that was a yummy substitution! I love butterscotch chips…so yummy! Thanks so much for the shout out and link back to my blog and this recipe. So glad you loved it and that you found a great way to work around the nuts. 🙂
    KC

  4. Although the picture looks like kitty litter, I bet it was very very good. I guess you could use m&m’s also. It’s all good if you ask me.

  5. OMG I think I just went to heaven reading your post. Butterscotch and coffee and cake all in one. My three favorite things in the whole world. I must try this out. Sounds fantastic. I love a good recipe. Thank you so much for linking up to Share With Me. I hope to see you again tomorrow for another great week. #sharewithme

Leave a Reply

