Carnival Themed Date Night!

If you have been reading this blog awhile, you know I am afraid of clowns. For anyone who needs a refresher, check this post out about my encounter with a twitter clown. To sum it up, I am petrified. Needless to say when my boyfriend found out Stephen King’s “It” will be remade and in theaters in 2015 he can’t stop talking about it. He finds my fear so funny that he has threatened to hide a clown in the house for me to find one night when I come home. So I decided the only way to beat it, is join him.

Movie

I made a date night out of it. I figured if the movie wasn’t the only focus I would have an easier time getting through it and hopefully taking a little of the fun out for him. So when he came home from work he found this:

InviteProblem was the invite was a bit too small and he is basically oblivious to the world around him. Note to self: next time making a neon sign style invite so he can’t miss it.

From there he was served carnival style food. I. E Chili dogs and fries! The plan was to also serve caramel apples for dessert but unfortunately I ran outta time. For anyone who is gonna replicate this date at home, make time for those caramel apples!

Frank and Fries

After Dinner was served it was time for a little carnival style game! What better game than a ring toss? I used beer bottles and paper plates with a hole cut out in the middle. If you are a ring toss expert, definitely try this! It is hard to do but not impossible. If you are ring toss impaired like apparently we are I would try something heavier, maybe a roll of duct tape. We found the plate had a mind of its own and we had quite a tough time. But it was still lots of fun!

Ring TossNow whats a carnival game without a prize right? Well I don’t know if you remember my Viking Date Night, but if you do you will remember that the winner of that game had to pay for dinner. Well as the loser I didn’t wanna make that mistake two times in a row. So this time I went with a cheaper but still fun alternative.

Prizes

Of course I lost the Ring Toss (well actually he got one plate on the bottle and we realized that we should quit while we were ahead). But there was not a winner in the bunch! Oh well!

And then it was time to sit down and suffer through enjoy the movie. I have to say I did pretty good until it was over. After the movie was over I had to shut the curtains in the shower to go to the bathroom, I woke up in the middle of the night convinced a shadow on my wall was a person and I was convinced leaving my closet door open was asking for trouble.

But I made it through! That is saying something and it has definitely quieted down the taunting (for now). What do you think of my Carnival Themed Date Night?

26 thoughts on “Carnival Themed Date Night!

  1. I’d do a carnival date night–sounds fun, but I couldn’t do the movie part. Scary movies give me nightmares for months. Clowns or no clowns, scary movies and I do not get along.

  2. Okay Shae, your idea for a Carnival Themed Date Night was sooooooo clever! I especially love the ‘invite’ that looks like a Carnival ticket! And your food menu was perfect!

    As you know, I share the same fear of clowns as you do. I really enjoy Stephen King books/movies, however, “It” was not one I’ve ever read or watched. And that’s ironic because I love scary films, but not ones with clowns in them – HA!

    Have a super week, girl!

    X

    • Thanks Ronnie! I am not really a creative gal so I get a lot of my stuff through internet searches but its fine putting it all together in a night dedicated to him.

  3. What do I think? I think you come up with the most original, creative, and fun dates ever! Want another boyfriend??

    “It” is one of the few Stephen King books I have never read. We have it in hardcover…I’ll have to make time for it before the movie comes out.

  4. I almost had to leave this page – I am completely creeped out by clowns, and that It clown is the worst! Your date, however, was adorable. I didn’t know you have a Matt too – we’re lucky girls:)

  5. ha. you have the most amazing date nights…that is awesome…i am going to have to start stealing some of your ideas….this time of year most of our dates end up outside…

    • Yes I am hoping to plan a few outdoors one as well. Problem is living in an apartment we dont have much in the way of a yard and work nights we end up home so late going places really isn’t on our agenda.

  6. What a great idea!!! Sounds like so much fun and what a creative way to keep it fun. I have to admit I couldn’t get pass the picture of the Stephen King It! I am truly petrified of clowns so much so that I can’t even look at them. So had to shut my eyes really quick. hahahah I know wuss. i can’t believe they are remaking the scariest movie ever! eeek. Thank you so much for linking up to Share With Me. #sharewithme

Leave a Reply

