Anxiety Meets The Most Legit Excuses.

As someone who has lived with anxiety my whole life, I realize that anxiety is never rational. There are moments in life when an anxiety ridden person will be provided with the most legit excuse to explain away a certain scenario but the anxiety overpowers said excuse. Often when anxiety takes over the worst possible scenario is the only scenario that makes sense in our head. Even when we know it is completely unlikely. Its a vicious circle we go around day after day but its something we have to deal with.

I have been provided with some excuses that really are pretty understandable. Here are a list of some of the best excuses for a scenario and what my anxiety ridden mind thinks of them:

1) I couldn’t text you today because my phone died and I do not know your phone number by memory.

Anxiety Conclusion: They hate me and never want to talk to me again.

2) I was late for your party because there was an accident on the highway I was stuck in traffic for over an hour.

Anxiety Conclusion: They hate me and never want to talk to me again.

3) I’m sorry I couldn’t hang out with you last night, a family member died.

Anxiety Conclusion: They hate me and never want to talk to me again.

Starting to see a pattern here? It doesn’t matter what you tell me, if I am dealing with anxiety my mind will automatically conclude that you have done this because you hate me. Its not rational but its realistic. Oh the qualms of being with an anxiety ridden female. I do not envy anyone who has to deal with me.

Bloggers do you ever have to deal with anxiety’s frustrating wrath?

12 thoughts on “Anxiety Meets The Most Legit Excuses.

  1. I have anxiety, but not about social situations. Mine usually crop up at 1 am and involve a lot of what ifs. Like what if one or all three of my kids gets the stomach flu right before we are supposed to get on the plane for a trip out west? What if my car doesn’t start and my daughter has a final exam tomorrow at 9 am?

    It’s crazy to constantly have these thoughts, but like you, I just can’t seem to control my mind, and I can work myself into a tizzy.

  2. My mind goes to 10 different paths of each scenario, I don’t have anxiety but I do think of every which way something can go. Have a friend with it though and she can get a little bit ummm crazy at times haha

  3. It’s ironic you posted this, Shae, because last month I had some anxiety concerning something. I don’t normally have anxiety, but when it do it feels like a panic attack – my heart races and my breathing gets shallow. What usually gets me back to feeling ‘centered’ is taking a walk outside because it seems to clear my head and calm me.

    Have a super weekend, girl!

    X

  4. Oh, Shae, I know all too well the curse of anxiety. I am constantly churning up disastrous outcomes to any potential change in my routine.

    The ego doesn’t want change and anxiety is one of the weapons it uses to keep us pinned down. My shrink advises me to “detach and observe”–to step outside of myself and really examine my thoughts.

    When it works, I can recognize destructive patterns and unhealthy thinking.

    • The weird part about me is that while I am having an anxiety attack I am also outside of me analyzing the attack. When I went to a therapist she said I was an odd case because I knew exactly what my triggers were and why they were irrational but I couldnt stop them from affecting me.

  5. I realised recently I have anxiety over the height of my house. I know it’s a totally unreasonable fear, but there’s nothing I can do to control it. Every time it gets windy I think ‘this is it, the house is going to blow down or fly away (like the Wizard of Oz)’ – good grief it’s SO annoying! I’ve never really experienced vertigo before, but I’m assuming that’s what it is 😦

    • Hmm what an interesting fear. I never really thought of that but I guess because wind really isnt too much of an issue here minus some scattered storms here and there.

Leave a Reply

