Bring Back Our Girls!

I know I say this a lot on this blog, but sometimes I feel its is a bloggers job to try and get the word out when a cause is important enough. Over the last few weeks I have been noticing the hashtag “Bring Back Our Girls” on multiple social media platforms. The most prominent celeb I have seen promoting this cause is Shay Mitchell from Pretty Little Liars. I really enjoy following her posts and it is very clear she is passionate about the cause so I decided to look into it to see what it is all about.

Mary J Blige doing her part!

For anyone who does not already know this cause is to try and recover the almost 200 kidnapped Nigerian school girls who are currently being sold at $12 a girl to militants. The families have asked power countries like the United Nations and United Stations to get involved and help them get their girls back. For a full overview of what happened go and check out this article in the NY Times.

Now I realize even in the blogosphere my reach is pretty small. But if everyone kept quiet because they did not think anyone would listen, no one would ever be heard. This cause is too important to let fall on deaf ears. And from what I am hearing this hashtag is really helping bring national attention to the cause. Hopefully the more attention it can ge the better chance there is of getting the girls back.

So here is what I am asking bloggers: tweet, instagram, facebook, use whatever social media you use the most and promote this hashtag. Educate people on what has happened and lets try and get the word out. These girls do not deserve to be sold off like property. They are women and we need to join together to try and get them back home where they belong!

10 thoughts on “Bring Back Our Girls!

  1. It’s a horrifying situation for sure. I often wonder about the magnitude of female slavery in our own country. Did you happen to see the stuff on social media during the Super Bowl season? It’s shocking, but I dont know how much of it is true.

  2. It is disgusting that people sell girls, kids etc for such acts. But hard to get anybody to do anything unless it involves oil or the like, $$$ rules.

  3. “but sometimes I feel its is a bloggers job to try and get the word out when a cause is important enough. But if everyone kept quiet because they did not think anyone would listen, no one would ever be heard. This cause is too important to let fall on deaf ears.”

    I so agree, Shae, and I thank you for sharing about this cause because it’s such an important one!

    Yay…Mary J. Blige! And btw, I’ve always been a huge fan of hers.

    Have a great weekend, my friend!
    X

  4. Like you, I have tweeted and facebooked about it. I’m with you on this. It’s a horrific situation these girls have been put through.

    Thanks for your comment on my blog. Much appreciated.

    Greetings from London.

Leave a Reply

