The Art of Racing in the Rain

As you guys know I love sharing with you my monthly book club meeting. This month was a small group so I am really excited to see if my blogging buddies have any input. The book we read was “The Art of Racing in the Rain” by Garth Stein. Look at the cover below, doesn’t it just make you wanna read it?

Now this book was written from the dogs perspective. That’ right. A Dog! His name was Enzo and I gotta tell you he was smart and funny! But whats more? It really made a lot of sense to think dog’s really think the way he said they do.

Now of course the parts about him learning from the T.V and being reincarnated with some of his memories from his dog life are fantasy. But he also talks about the dog’s ability to sense things on a greater level than a human can. In one part of the book a character comes down with cancer and the dog knew what was going on before the character did. Now the dog claims he could smell it. Whether that part is realistic is left for the reader to decide but I definitely believe dogs can sense their owners feelings on a level greater than any human.

I relate this book to my dog and how she interacts with me. If I am having a bad anxiety day, she is having a bad anxiety day. My boyfriend can often tell what mood I am going to be in by looking at the mood of the dog. If the dog is panting, I must be anxious. If the dog is attached to my hip, I am either sick or sad. If the dog is angry, I am angry. If the dog is relaxed and happy, hallelujah it is gonna be a good day lol!

I never really thought about this until the book pointed it out but it really makes a lot of sense. Dogs are much smarter than we give them credit for. This book helped me relate to my dog just a little bit more (and considering how attached I am to her that is pretty amazing) and I am really glad it did!

Bloggers how do you feel about this? Do you think pets can sense our emotions without us actively telling them?

16 thoughts on “The Art of Racing in the Rain

  1. I think it’s true that dogs and other animals can smell certain diseases on humans. Animals seem to have extraordinary senses of smell to find food, plus there are those drug sniffing dogs. They say dogs can smell fear, so why not other emotions?

    I read that book and liked it, though it was also sad.

  2. I do think dogs can sense a lot about our physical, mental, and emotional states. This acuteness in sensing human might have have evolved from their domesticated state. Wild animals probably can sense similar things, but they probably care less since they have less at stake.

    Lee
    Read my challenge to WordPress users at:
    Tossing It Out

  3. Dogs and cats can sure become in tune with their humans and really sense everything going around. Dogs are smart indeed, even if they eat poop lol

  4. “I never really thought about this until the book pointed it out but it really makes a lot of sense. Dogs are much smarter than we give them credit for.”

    I TOTALLY agree with you, Shae! I think animals are so incredibly in tuned to things that we humans are not because their sense of ‘energy’ is extremely sensitive.

    Excellent book review! And this sounds like one I would REALLY like! So, thank you for sharing it! And yes, the book cover is awesome!

    And btw, one of my best friends in Florida had a dog named Enzo!

    Have a super week, my friend!
    X

    • So weird that you know someone with that name! I had never heard of it until the book! I hope you get a chance to read it I think you would really enjoy it Ronnie!

  5. I agree with the others; there are documented cases of dogs detecting cancer in humans. Many also seem to know when natural disasters are going to occur. Pretty impressive feats for an animal that loves to poke its nose up other’s butts!

  6. Oh, I’m sure dogs are gifted in ways we can’t begin to understand. We had a dog, Casey, who used to go nuts every time he saw some any kind of wildlife during our drives in the country. However, if an animal, like a squirrel or a woodchuck, appeared to be injured or ailing, Casey didn’t make a sound.

    • Hmm dogs really are perceptive in ways we really can’t understand. So interesting that your dog would keep quiet if they were ailing. I wish I could read their mind…

Leave a Reply

