When Live Tweeting Might Be A Bad Idea…

As I have mentioned in previous posts…I kind of like twitter. I don’t use it as much as I would like but when I do get on there I find some pretty funny stuff. That being said there are some things that people tweet that really baffle me. Some things just aren’t meant to be broadcasted all over a social network. Especially if it is not your business to exploit.

I don’t know how many of you saw this, but a New York based comedian, Kyle Ayers, live tweeted someone’s break up. Now, the results were pretty funny and yes I read through all the tweets. I guess that makes me part of the problem doesn’t it? But it really got me thinking that although we witness so many different events on a day to day basis that might make for some humorous jokes because we are not involved in it…we might not want to publicly share said jokes. Makes us seem insensitive. Or maybe we don’t care. Admittedly, I am on the fence on this.

However, this got me thinking. What other events that we might witness would probably be insensitive to live tweet? Don’t get your hampster wheel fired up just yet I made a nice little list for ya:

5) Job Interview: I know when I see someone walk into my part time job I have had for over ten years I judge the newbies. And yes it can be funny to comment on their clothing, attitude, chances of getting the job…ect. But in a few years they could be your boss or worse they could be the daughter of the owner. Tweet at your own risk!

 

4) Child Birth: Yes this is a magical moment. But I can assure you, your wife would not appreciate one of the most intimate and probably embarrassing moments of her life tweeted for the world to see.

3) Committing of a Crime: Any crime. Not only would you be an accessory because you saw it and did nothing but if you are tweeting you are letting a crime happen. That is just not good karma my friend.

2) Someone Getting Fired: Lets just say- you are caught doing this. You could be next. No matter how funny it is.

1) Funeral: I know it is becoming socially acceptable to take selfies here (still wrong to me) but live tweeting every emotional outburst and the fashion woes of a funeral might not be in the best taste…might not be…

Obama seems to think its okay…

 

Can you think of any events you should probably not live tweet?

 

7 thoughts on “When Live Tweeting Might Be A Bad Idea…

  1. I’m on the fence about this too…only because if someone is dumb enough to break up with someone in hearing distance of a stranger, they get what they deserve. What I find annoying about Twitter is people who check in on four square. Do I need to know you are at the grocery store?

  2. The crime one is hilarious, in a you are so stupid you deserve to get caught kinda way. Never make fun of bosses on there, or you could be screwed.

  3. I don’t really understand twitter yet, but I did read the ‘break-up’ on in the newspaper this morning. It’s hard to know how and why these go viral because there are SO many tweets out there 😉

  4. Ha. I agree, those things aren’t really Tweetworthy. I’m not on Twitter much; in fact, the last time I checked it was the night of the Oscars. I do like it as a source of news and entertainment, though. I’ve just never really been able to get into it.

Leave a Reply

