Clowing Around on Twitter

I am not sure if I have mentioned it on this blog before but this girl is afraid of clowns. And I don’t mean just a little afraid where I get mildly uncomfortable around them I mean so afraid this girl will throw a full blown temper tantrum. This was not some self inflicted fear from reading Stephen King too young or meeting the wrong clown at a birthday party. No this fear was inflicted by my big brother. Genius that he is decided to show toddler me (maybe five or six) the movie Killer Klowns from Outer Space. I was traumatized!

So anyways my disease apparently has a name, Coulrophobia. Additionally it seems a pretty common fear. So it makes sense that twitter uses would prey on this fear and make an account solely for the purpose of torturing people like me. Makes sense but when it happened to me I still wasnt prepared. I am been scarred and I will share with you my story.

For those of you who arent twitter fantatics there was a guy going around dressed up as Pennywise from “IT” and his twitter account is #NorthHamptonClown. This is pretty well known on twitter and basically the guy was showing up places and people were tweeting sightings of him. That whole story freaked me out and I basically avoided all clown talk. Until a lovely blogging friend of mine decided to comment on a tweet I sent out:

@jaganishi @star_shine22 yer not as stalky as @Scary_Clown #DontLookBehindYou

β€” Lizzi; Considerer (@LRConsiderer) October 10, 2013

Seemed innocent enough since the guy running the creepy account didnt reply and it wasnt the same clown I was afraid of. HOWEVER, two months later…out of frigin no where the guy decides to reply. And not just a normal ha ha funny reply- nope this is what I get from the clown account:

@jaganishi @LRConsiderer @star_shine22 We’ll be best friends. Just… Feed me. I love children. Especially with carrots and onions.

β€” Scary Clown (@Scary_Clown) December 23, 2013

I almost died when I got the tweet. I legit felt myself beginning to shake! And this was two days before christmas! Nice present huh??? But the clown didnt stop at that. I have heard from him a few times since then and I promise you he has been in my dreams!

@star_shine22 @jaganishi @LRConsiderer Well, Lizzie was right. I do go through dreams. Sometimes with balloon animals.

β€” Scary Clown (@Scary_Clown) December 23, 2013

 

This is probably the creepiest twitter interaction I have ever been through and ever care to. So I turn to you bloggers have your fears found you in other unlikely places?

23 thoughts on “Clowing Around on Twitter

  1. haha wow, that clown may have a thing for you. He’s just a tweeting clown with a big red lovable nose. Can’t say i fear much so nothing like that has found me

  2. “I am not sure if I have mentioned it on this blog before but this girl is afraid of clowns.”

    Yup…me as well, Shae! OMG…clowns freak me the hell out. For something that is supposedly represents something funny and happy, clowns are CREEPY!

    And reading the tweet responses Scary Clown gave you, gave me CHILLS!

    “Well, Lizzie was right. I do go through dreams. Sometimes with balloon animals.”

    Ewwwwwwwwwwww!

    Great post, girl! Have a super weekend, minus any CLOWNS.
    X

  3. BWAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA! I LOVE that Scary Clown and you have such fun interactions together. Methinks he’s a happy scary clown (he’s good therapy as well – feeds on fear, so ya just gotta stop being afraid! πŸ˜‰ )

  4. I will only forever be known as the brother who scarred u for life, huh. Lol I do sincerely hope you can forgive my error in judgment that fateful day.
    As far as the twitter clown just remember he can only haunt you if you let him. Just block him and the clown shall be no more. But I do enjoy your blogs, yes j do read them.

  5. I have to check out the twitter clown now! Too funny. I’m scared of centipedes and find them in various places around the house. Then I spend the rest of my life creeped out that one will again appear in that spot, if that makes any sense!

    • You do not want to check out the twitter clown- any of them! Down right frightening! I really never thought of centipedes as scary but I can see where you are coming from. Creepy crawlys are not my fav!

  6. First off Killer Klowns from Outer space is an awesome movie! I too watched it in kindergarten along with Candyman and other such movies but it weird the one movie character that use to terrify me was the witch from Robin Hood Prince of Thieves. As far as clowns staking you on twitter…that’s just creepy. But on a serious not the best way to deal with fears especially irrational ones is to face them head on. I shall help if you would like.

  7. Stalking clowns are definitely creeping. I’m wondering if there is anybody who actually LIKES clowns?

    Years ago Bobcat Goldthwait did a movie called “Shakes the Clown” about a foul-mouthed, alcoholic clown. He got so much grief for that flick, but only because he struck a nerve.

    I’m not frightened of clowns, I just don’t think they’re funny.

    Here’s hoping the clowns never get close!

  8. Hello! Thiis post couldn’t be wrtten any better!

    Reading through this post reminds me of my old room mate!
    He always kept talking about this. I wwill forward
    this article to him. Fairly certain he will have a good
    read. Thank you for sharing!

Leave a Reply

