My Love Hate Relationship With Miley Cyrus

I have been putting off writing this post because frankly I keep changing my mind about how I feel about this girl. I will admit I watched Hannah Montana when it was on T.V (and yes I was far too old to be watching it but I have a younger sister so I get a free pass right?). I thought she was quirky, funny and just an all around pretty good child actress. Of course my interest in here began because of her father Billy Ray, my achy breaky heart still beats for him- don’t care how old he is! But we all have seen how cute little Hannah Montana has started to grow up.

The Blurred Lines performance at the VMA’s was shocking to say the least. But lets face it people, she WANTED to shock you. This girl knew exactly what she was doing and she got exactly the type of attention she wanted, ALL OF IT. This girl has been in show business most of her life thanks to her daddy, she is not oblivious to how the industry works. But knowing this did not make me any more happy that the Hannah Montana I loved was gyrating to a pretty degrading song about, well for lack of a better description, rape in a tan scantily clad bikini looking outfit. Couldn’t there be a way to shock the audience without stooping to that impossibly low standard?

But then she came out with the song Wrecking Ball. Now yes the video is, well shocking again. She rides around on a literal wrecking ball and is naked or very close to it for most of the video. However, when she was questioned about it she claimed it was art. And you know what? She might actual be telling the truth. The song is about a girl who is basically ruined in a relationship. The metaphor her sans skin body is portraying is how she stripped down her walls for someone and they weren’t able to do the same. Oh and did I mention in this song Miley can actually sing. And no I don’t mean autotuned perfection I mean Miley has a voice!

Now I actually really relate to the song and I can even relate to her artistic approach even though it may not have been the path I would take. I have since listened to lyrics in some of her other songs and I have to say this girl is actually a better role model than we are all giving her credit for. Here are just three examples from 2013 alone:

1) “Remember only God can judge ya
Forget the haters ’cause somebody loves ya”

2) “I never meant to start a war
I just wanted you to let me in
And instead of using force
I guess I should’ve let you win”

3) “I came into this world by myself
So I don’t need nobody else
We have just begun
So much to do, so young
Don’t be afraid of alone, you’ll get it done on your own”

But Miley there is one thing I won’t forgive you for. Making room for this parody of Wrecking Ball with Hulk Hogan! I cannot unsee this!!

So bloggers, how do you feel about Miley Cyrus? Love her? Hate her? Both? Let me know!

16 thoughts on “My Love Hate Relationship With Miley Cyrus

  1. Ok, first, did you see the picture going around of Jessie from Full House on a wrecking ball? So funny, since it’s like 20 years old.

    My kids didn’t like the Hannah Montana show, so I don’t remember her as a youngster. I feel like she’s just repeating the whole Britney Spears going crazy thing, to be honest. Let’s see how many times she gets married in the next ten years.

    • I had not seen that picture until you posted this and omgoodness was that hilarious! Thanks so much for bringing it to my attention! And you could be right about Miley I guess we just have to wait and see how it all plays out.

  2. ” But lets face it people, she WANTED to shock you. This girl knew exactly what she was doing and she got exactly the type of attention she wanted, ALL OF IT.”

    Exactly! She knows what she’s doing every step of the way. Miley kinda reminds me a bit like how Madonna used to be when she first started. Much of what she did was for shock value. That was her plan, to push people’s buttons. And I’ve actually heard her say that in an interview.

    I don’t either hate or love Miley because I don’t follow her. I only read what other people write about her on their blogs and have read a few articles about her online. However, I have to say that I’ve heard her sing and you’re right…she DOES have a voice, no doubt about it.

    LOVED the video clip that you shared. HILARIOUS!

    Great post, Shae!
    X

    • You are right I never thought of Madonna when considering this but thats a good point. And you know what? Madonna never went nuts she knew what she was doing and she did it well! Thanks for bringing that up 🙂

  3. My daughter was obsessed with Hannah Montana years ago, and I thought she was a good role model. I think Miley knows exactly what she is doing – look at all the publicity she’s getting! I think her lyrics are better than most of the ones out there, but there’s still references to drugs and sex that I wish weren’t there. That’s just the state of pop music, though.

    • Thats very true but at least its encouraging to see her telling kids to be themselves and not give in to pressure from others. To me in this day and age that is very refreshing.

  4. I hurd wrecking ball and really liked it when I found out it was a Miley Cyrus song I was surprised. It is not a surprise that she has real talent however and though I don’t really know much of her music from those quotes you provided it looks like her message is good and I for one support the shock tactics she is using. It wouldn’t work if people weren’t so prudish and repressed which is something that is really with this country.

Leave a Reply

