Would I Be Three Today Without Comments?

Today marks my three-year blogging anniversary! Can you believe it? I remember when I started this blog I didn’t think anyone would read it and here we are now three years later and I have some of the best followers I could have hoped for.

As a blogger, I live for comments. Whether the feedback be negative or positive, I love to know what my readers think. I use the comments to generate future posts, to connect with my readers and to find new blogs when new readers come my way. This is why I love that the comments here on this blog are freely available to everyone without any censorship. Which will turn me to the topic I have been mulling over, the censorship of YouTube comments.

I am sure by now most of you have heard but for those who havent, Google plus has announced that they will now roll out a way for YouTube comments to be censored. Brian Fagoli does a good job explaining the pros and cons in detail, but the gist is the author of the video will have their comments most visible, the author will be able to block certain words if they choose to and they will also be able to block certain users.

Now here’s my dilemma, YouTube comments can be pretty awful. They can be vile, racist and just plain hurtful. But they can also spark a lot of creativity. There are many times when I will see a YouTube comment and it will make me think of the video in a different light. Even if the comment is negative it can do some good. But I do understand that the overwhelming negative comments can deter people from wanting to post or even watch videos. So what is YouTube to do?

As a blogger, I feel comments are the life of our art. Without comments we wouldn’t do what we do week after week. There must be a way to have an open comment system without people abusing that power. I just don’t know what that way is.

Any ideas bloggers? Do you think Google Plus is heading in the right direction? Or do you think there is a better way to moderate comments? Let me know what you think!

8 thoughts on “Would I Be Three Today Without Comments?

  1. First, CONGRATULATIONS on your three-year blog anniversary, Shae!!!!!

    Yes, doesn’t the time fly by?

    I think I’ve been reading your blog for the whole three years, haven’t I? Or at least two of the years. And I must say, I love reading your posts and look forward to reading more this year.

    I haven’t heard/read anything about Google Plus rolling out its means of censoring comments, but I actually think it’s a good idea.

    I’m all for freedom of speech and opinion. However, not if the comments are hurtful, hateful, vile, and mean. And to be honest, I don’t read comments on You Tube anymore because some of them are just plain nasty. I think people have the right to voice their opposing view points, but not at the expense of just hurting someone by saying whatever they feel.

    And I also have to be honest and say that I moderate the comments on my blog as well. And I always have. I won’t delete a comment just because someone disagrees with me, but I will (and have) deleted comments that were out right rude and nasty.

    This is the Internet. And the Internet can be used in many different ways. It can be used to express your opinions in an intelligent manner, or it can be used to hurt. I love the Internet, but I don’t trust it.

    So yes, I do believe in comment moderation. Especially if it’s a first time reader/commentor on my blog. After I know someone for awhile, then I pre-approve their comments to go through automatically.

    Another GREAT post topic, girl!

    Have a super week….X

    • You bring up a lot of good points Ronnie thank you so much! I have not had to deal with too many nasty comments although I will admit there has been a comment I have rejected here and there so I guess comment moderation is needed in some cases. My fear is when comment moderation is abused. But with everything I guess that is always a fear.

  2. Congrats indeed at your feed. I think it is good to moderate the bigots and such, but being able to moderate just because someone disagrees with you is kinda stupid

  3. I think it’s a good idea for them to go that way because YouTube comments are the WORST. It’s basically one f-bomb after another and it pisses me off because YouTube is so popular with kids. I cringe thinking about all those kids reading that crap! Then again, maybe it is the 13 year olds writing all those comments because you have to question the maturity level.

    Happy Blogiversary!

    • This is very true! It is either kids or adults who act like kids when they have a computer to hide behind. Sadly the internet just isnt the best place for kids anymore and yet kids make up the majority of internet users!

  4. Congratulations on your third anniversary! I wish you many more!

    Gosh, what a great question. YouTube comments can be absolutely horrible–racist, sexist, and just plain revolting.

    I can’t believe the bilge that follows even the most innocuous videos. I sure as hell wouldn’t miss them, but I’m not entirely comfortable with censoring them either. They do reveal what a certain part of the population is thinking–or not thinking-and censoring them won’t change how people feel.

    It’s a tough call, but that’s how it goes in a free society.

    Take care.

    • You are right, it is a tough call! I wish people showed a little more maturity when crafting comments but unfortunately that is not the world we live in. We either censor or allow ourselves to be open to vile comments. No win really.

Leave a Reply

