Shower Me With Compliments

So given that its the holiday season, we are all bombarded with commercials telling us to shower our loved ones in whatever product the company sells. Diamonds, chocolates, flowers, you name it. But I have to say, and maybe because its single and I know expecting diamonds is like expecting to win the lottery, but I would not want to be showered with material things for the holidays.

Instead you know what I want to be showered with? Compliments. Now I realize this sounds silly and maybe even a little selfish. However, nothing brightens my day more than a totally unexpected and unsolicited compliment. An example would be a commenter here on this old blog.

One of my favorite bloggers, Ronnie, always leaves me a comment and often times he says how I write the “most interesting blog posts” or something to that affect. For some reason just little comments like that brighten my whole day and make me want to keep writing. Knowing that someone appreciates what you do really does make a world of difference.

Or how about the times you take the time to do your hair and someone on the street notices you and pays you a compliment. I can’t be the only one who smiles at that.

I have to say this year has been a hard year and I am finally getting on my feet again. New job, bills are paid up to day and the holiday season is upon us. A few compliments doesn’t take too much effort and is totally free. Maybe its the gift you should consider giving your loved ones this year. I promise you won’t regret it!

8 thoughts on “Shower Me With Compliments

  1. Oh, I’m so glad to hear you got a new job, Shae! I always enjoy your pop culture posts and I’m glad we’re Blogger friends! You keep me young and relevant! Have a wonderful Christmas.

  2. Great post, you are so nice, always fun things to read here. Great post! lol I’m done. But yeah you are right, taking a little notice every now and then can go a long way

  3. Ok here is your “totally unexpected and unsolicited compliment” (lol):

    Shae, even with the BY filled with a BUNCH of people, most of which I know very well and consider them very close friends and family, I always have an extra BIG smile when I see you there. Your big, beautiful eyes always draw me in and I can’t help constantly looking to see if they are looking my way.

    I hope you have a GREAT Christmas and I hope that 2014 brings much happiness your way!!!

Leave a Reply

