I Am Thankful I Am NOT A Lottery Winner!

After a day of being thankful today marks Black Friday. The day where crazy shoppers go to get all the deals to make their holiday shopping just a little bit cheaper. As the holiday madness starts don’t we all wish we could come into a big sum of money and not have to worry about the credit card debt that awaits most of us when the holidays are over? A man in Columbia, South Carolina earlier this year won over 400 million dollars in the local lottery- do you think his holiday shopping will be a bit easier?

As much as I would love good fortune like this man, I am writing this post to say I am thankful I am NOT a major lottery winner like this man. I know we all keep our fingers crossed for things like this and we all hope it would happen to us, but do any of us really want the responsibility? I would like to turn to T.V to show why I am thankful I am not the lottery winner this year:

3) Hurley from “Lost”- Who can forget this lovable Hagrid like character? We all loved and adored him but before he was on that island life was far from easy for him. The lottery changed his life and not in a good way. He was worried about his life every second of the day. I am sure if he could turn back time he would have never won the lottery in the first place.

2) All the Characters on “Lucky 7”- While this show suffered a bad fate- it did show how although money might be the answer to our prayers it does also cause so many problems that we may not be prepared to deal with.

1) Charlie from “It Could Be You”- This man wins a 4 million dollar lottery! Only catch is he promised a waitress he couldnt tip that he would share his winnings with her if he won- when he did his wife wasnt exactly fond of his plan. Caught between keeping his word and keeping his wife this man learns that winning the lottery may not have been the blessing he once thought it was.

After a day of giving thanks I think it is important for everyone to remember that the grass always seems greener somewhere else but we need to appreciate what we have instead of yearning for what we don’t. This should extend past Thanksgiving and follow us into the holiday season. Instead of hoping for 20 gifts under the tree lets be grateful for the family and friends we have to share it with.

 

Happy Thanksgiving bloggers!

12 thoughts on “I Am Thankful I Am NOT A Lottery Winner!

  1. What’s left to say? I agree. Although I wouldn’t mind winning a few million just to test this theory. I think all in all, that would be a few more million things I would be thankful for!

  2. Very true, but I’d take the millions and then go hide away for a while so no one would bug me. Most people make the mistake of buying bigger this and that. When really you don’t need it.

  3. “I think it is important for everyone to remember that the grass always seems greener somewhere else but we need to appreciate what we have instead of yearning for what we don’t. This should extend past Thanksgiving and follow us into the holiday season. Instead of hoping for 20 gifts under the tree lets be grateful for the family and friends we have to share it with.”

    Amen, Shae! And I totally agree with you!

    Funny, I never play the lottery because I know I’ll never win. Nor do I even want to win. I like my life just as it is – simple and basic. More money means more upkeep. And I’m a very low-maintenance type person.

    “Charlie from “It Could Be You”

    OMG…I have that movie on DVD and love it! Great story, with a great lesson!

    Super post, Shae! Have a wonderful weekend!
    X

    • Glad you appreciated the post Ronnie! Sometimes I get a litle sentimental and soft glad to know some people appreciate even those type of posts! Hope your holiday season was low maintenance and stress free!

  4. Happy Belated Thanksgiving! I keep telling myself that if I won the lottery, I wouldn’t do all the foolish things that people on TV do. But, I probably would. So I’ll take your advice and be grateful for my family and friends.

    • Haha we all probably would. Its nice to say we would be responsible and invest it but the reality is so many of us would be caught up in the moment and wouldnt realize our mistakes until it was far too late.

  5. At first I was going to agree because well I’d probably have the luck of Hurley lol. But After thinking about it for a while i think i found a way around the bad luck. After taxes it would be in the area of 265 million. i would take 10% for myself. pay off bills, have some fun, buy some fun stuff then takes whats left of that 26.5 million and live off the interest. the rest i would set up in a foundation through which those in need can be helped. Just an idea…

    • Thats a really great idea! Its awesome that you could see the money as something more than just a way to have fun and benefit yourself! I really commend you for that 🙂

Leave a Reply

