Did He Just Mispronounce One Million Dollars?

Have you ever mis-pronounced a word and had a whole room laugh at you and until they explained you had no idea what the problem was? Yah, me too. Now what if that mistake cost you a million dollars? This happened to Paul Atkinson on Wheel of Fortune. He was ready to solve the puzzle for the “Corner Curio Cabinet” but had never heard of this before and ended up mispronouncing curio. The next contestant then got the chance to solve after already hearing him say the right phrase the wrong way.

To me this is a bit unfair. I realize that they are trying to not favor dialects so there is no injustice in the answers but I think its reasonable to expect people to be nervous and if they get the answer that close you should either give it to them or at least not let another contestant steal it that way. But it got me thinking, are there words or phrases that would cost me to lose the game? As a Boston girl you can bet there are!

1) Anything with an r in the middle of the word:

I realize this is entirely cliche for my region but when I get nervous the r’s drop right out of my words. “Pahk the cah in the hahvard yahd” isn’t just a saying pointing fun at us…it would be torture on Wheel of Fortune.

2) Anything with the word “about” in it:

I really have no idea where this issue of mine comes from but when I am nervous or angry I all of a sudden become Canadian and say “abut” or something to that degree. Lets hope my million dollar puzzle isn’t “Thinking about it.”

3) Anything with the word “adult” in it:

Frankly, I dont even know the right way to pronounce this word. I always say “a- dult” but I know many people who say “ahh- dult”. My way sounds wrong to me because it makes me think we are saying “a dolt” but then again being a grown up and being a dolt are one in the same. Why didn’t we follow Peter Pan to Neverland and stay kids forever?

So bloggers are there any words that you pronounce wrong and could cost you a million dollar prize on Wheel of Fortune? I’d love to hear about it! And enjoy the video below with this poor man’s costly mistake.

14 thoughts on “Did He Just Mispronounce One Million Dollars?

  1. ” I realize that they are trying to not favor dialects so there is no injustice in the answers but I think its reasonable to expect people to be nervous and if they get the answer that close you should either give it to them or at least not let another contestant steal it that way. ”

    I agree, Shae! The guy obvious knew what the word was, but said it with a different inflection.

    OMG…I LOVE your list of three words! I work with a guy who is originally from Boston, so I could actually hear him saying ““Pahk the cah in the hahvard yahd”

    Being from Philly, I sometimes say things like “wudder” instead of water.

    Isn’t it funny how even though we all speak English here in the States, we each have a different accent, so it sounds different? I love the New York accent, in which “r’s” are dropped. So a word like mother, becomes mutha!

    FAB post, girl! Have a million dollar week!

    X

    • Glad you liked the post Ronnie. I am trying to picture what it would sound like to hear “wudder” but I cant really imagine it. Thats something I would need to hear in person. There are just so many funny things we say differently across state lines its so funny to me! Glad you stopped by!

  2. I dunno…I watched the video and don’t think he screwed up. I mean, “curio” was spelled out for him – he just pronounced it “funny.” In any case, I feel for the guy.

    I personally don’t have an accent, but my parents do. Like Ron says, they’ll pronounce it “wudder,” too. Being from Trenton – across the river from Philly – I’m not really surprised. It’s always a hoot listening to them talk.

    • See I agree he said it funny but it was already there- how can you not give that to him?! Makes me crazy!

      As for you, we all say we dont have an accent, but then someone from not around will tell you otherwise!

  3. Poor guy! I don’t think I have an accent, but I’m sure people from other parts of the country would say I do. One word that people in the Baltimore area say that drives me nuts is “war-der” for water. I don’t see an “r” in there, do you? I cringe every time I hear it.

  4. That was crazy that they didn’t give it to him! The word was completely spelled out! WTH? And then the next guy had a Hispanic accent! What if he had said it wrong? Makes no sense!

    I’m not from Boston, but I do the same thing with my R’s that you describe when I’m tired too. I went to speech therapy in third grade for it, but it’s funny how it reappears, esp when I talk fast. When my daughter went away to college, she was told she had a Cleveland accent. Something about the way we say our A in words like ‘bad’. We elongate the A.

  5. Well, I’m from Brooklyn, so I’m the last one to talk (tawk) about accents. I’m not quite in the “Saturday Night Fever” crowd, unless I’ve had too much to drink. And as Ron rightly points out, New Yorkers (Yawkers) tend to drop kick our “R’s” as park the cah outside the bah. I better stay away from quiz shows…

    • Haha this is pretty hilarious. I really need to get all my blogging buddies to record themselves saying something that sounds funny in their accents and round it up for everyone to enjoy.

Leave a Reply

