Why This Girl Wants To Be A Combat Juggler

As many of you know I am currently on a fitness kick. I am doing personal training once a week and trying my best to keep myself motivated throughout the rest of the week. I am not looking to lose weight but rather to gain muscle. The problem with this is I am not the body type that looks like I need to work out. That being said motivation is hard to come by.

I have been wracking my brain for a fun way to work out that is different and will keep me engaged. Kickboxing? Could be good for aggression. Jogging? Well I can’t run a mile so that might not work out for long. Zumba? Could be a fun possibility but not a fan of groups. Combat Juggling? Well that is one interesting idea!

Combat Juggling is a sport I recently learned about that is both out of the box and a great way to get out aggression (at least in my head). Since I am a girl who loves lists I decided to make a list of five reasons why I should try combat juggling as my new sport of choice:

5) Great for Eye/ Hand Coordination: This will be important if I ever become a wife- I will need to be able to see the back of my husbands head and connect the pan in my hand with it effectively and without hesitation to avoid suspicion.

4) Adrenaline Rush: This is such a good feeling to be able to understand. When a car falls on your child every mother wants to be able to harness the full power of an adrenaline rush to lift a car like the bionic woman. This sport will help train me for those catastrophes!

3) Combat the Fear of Clowns: Okay so there is nothing in the rules saying clowns have to be present at combat juggling but c’mon when you think juggling what image comes to mind? That red nose and creepy smile? Ya, me too. And as a girl petrified of those unreadable faces this will be a way to face my fears head on.

2) Aggression Relief: It is actually in the rules that you can throw balls at your opponents. What can be better than this? Feeling a little upset? Throw something at your opponent and get points for it! Winning!

1) Build Arm Strength: Juggling might not sound hard but try doing it for any length of time especially with weighted objects. Feeling it? This sport can help build your arms bigger than Serena Williams. Okay maybe not that far but pretty damn close!

So bloggers what type of unique exercise do you do to keep you motivated?

11 thoughts on “Why This Girl Wants To Be A Combat Juggler

  1. WOW, Shae…I have never even heard of Combat Juggling, so I found this post so interesting! And I LOVED your list of 5 and the photos you used.

    Yup…I find clowns creepy beyond belief. In fact, many years ago I wrote a post on my fear of clowns.

    ” The problem with this is I am not the body type that looks like I need to work out. ”

    Same here. I’m rather on the ‘slight” side when it comes to my body type, and weight has ever been an issue for me. I eat and eat yet, still stay the same weight.

    I do a combination of several kinds of exercise. I walk a lot because I live in a city, so it’s good for my legs and heart rate (and I walk fast). I also do yoga and lift 10 pounds weights a few times a week. I find that for my own body, low impact exercise it the best.

    GREAT post, girl! Have a super weekend!

    X

    • You sound like me except slight more motivated to work out! Yoga is something I really want to get into but I really have gotten myself into it full stream just yet. But for me flexibility has never been a strong suit and I think yoga would help with that. Thanks for stopping by!

  2. I really need to start juggling a bit more often. Your reasons are great and spot on–and you presented them with humor.

    I grew up in a family of jugglers. Back in the 60’s when my sister and I were kids and before anyone ever talked about combat juggling, my sister and I would have juggling battles. We always had a bit of sibling rivalry going on, but we were best of friends as well. Since wooden clubs were the norm back then, juggling battles could be hazardous. But we were kids and it was great fun.

    Lee
    Check out my interview with viral blogger Liza Long
    Tossing It Out

  3. I can totally relate to you and Ron. I dont look like I need to workout, so I tend to backslide, esp when the weather turns bad. My husband is a fitness fiend and keeps trying to get me to do ‘core’ exercises……..BORING! And I hate yoga! I’ll stick with fast walking and the bike. The rowing machine isn’t too bad either.

Leave a Reply

