Never, “Thats When I’ll Stop Loving You” NSYNC

So lately a lot of my blogging buddies have been posting flashback posts. I have really enjoyed reading each and every one of them but I have been pretty sad that I haven’t been able to contribute any flashbacks of importance to me, until now.

As everyone knows, the VMA’s were last Sunday. I was snuggled up on my couch watching anxiously for the moment all us girls were waiting for. No, not Miley Cyrus twerking. Yes I saw and while that could be a whole other blog post, that only distracted me from the main event.

The main event I am talking about of course is the NYSNC reunion. If you were a girl in the 90’s you knew the importance of the boy bands. Back in the day you had to pick a team, team NSYNC or team Backstreet. Now of course, all of us listened to both bands but NEVER would we admit it. No! You had to pick one and you were their fan girl and only theirs.

Did it make any sense? No! They had very similar music so it would only make sense that we would like both if we liked either. But, in our heads they were competitors and we had to chose. And we did. I was team NSYNC. Particularly, team J.C *swoon*.

So when those boys popped up out of the stage after JT uttered “you asked for it”. I was transported into the body of pre-teen me. The music was running through me and suddenly I was in my childhood bedroom dancing along to Darrin’s Dance Grooves (anyone else remember this?) and learned the steps to “Bye, Bye, Bye).

I will say the performance was too short, but I am hoping this is a sign of a reunion tour. If it is you better believe I will be in the audience repping the “digital get down”.

Did any other girl have a similar reaction to the NYSNC reunion? If not what band would bring you back to your childhood?

 

15 thoughts on “Never, “Thats When I’ll Stop Loving You” NSYNC

  1. My oldest daughter had all the BSB and NYSNC CDs, even though she was pre-preteen at the time. We were definitely a BSB house though….I listened to that Millenium CD as much as she did! Brings back good memories of my kids being little and loving it when I cranked up the tunes in the minivan…hahaha.

    Old school Elton John takes me back to childhood (think ‘Benny and the Jets’), but it’s Areosmith that takes me back to Jr. high and makes me smile.

  2. Shae….LOVED this post, girl!

    And do you know what’s funny? I TOTALLY forgot that Justin Timberlake and Joey Fatone were part of NYSNC?!?!

    Back when I was younger, it was Elton John, Billy Joel, and Areosmith.

    And I have to share something with you that you might find interesting, since you mentioned The Backstreet Boys. I did their hair and makeup for one of their first CD covers when I lived in Florida. They had just gotten started back then. One of these days, I’ll tell you about the photo shoot and how the photographer was SO high on drugs that she overexposed all the film she had taken, and then had to go back and RESHOOT the session. And she had the nerve to ask me if I would come back and do the hair and makeup for FREE because of HER mistake.

    NOT!

    Have a fab weekend, girl!

    LOVE your new template!

    X

    • Thanks for all the compliments Ronnie you are too kind. Now to serious business, can you PLEASE blog about this?!? I would love to know all about this Backstreet moment with the drugged up makeup artist. You have my attention! Please write it! I would love you forever (well I already do but still please :))

  3. I was totally into Michael Jackson and Duran Duran (showing my age, I know), but I never was that nuts about a band like the way my daughter is about One Direction. It is so fun to watch how excited she gets!

  4. Sorry Shae, Fast Forwarded through it! I DID watch Miley a couple times though and although it was a little “out there”, I didn’t see anything inappropriate or too outrageous about it. Although this could be a topic for another blog.

  5. Vids have been glitchy on my computer tonight for some reason. *sigh*
    My daughter liked NSync but LOVED the Backstreet Boys. And by coincidence… hmm… or not… my grandson has the initials AJ. And her fav member was AJ. HMMM! LOL

    My fav band has always been Aerosmith, I first saw them in concert in 1983 with my then boyfriend, now husband. They are still touring, although it’s been quite a few years since I saw them last.
    I liked Duran Duran, too. And finally got to see them in concert about 4 years ago. They sounded terrific. Also, the B52s are still touring. They are as fun a band now as they were way back in the late 70s/early 80s when I first started listening.

    • I loved A. J too (although would never admit it) but was sad to hear about his drug addiction. You are like my mom and Aunt they were all about Aerosmith. I do enjoy his voice though I think he is probably timeless.

Leave a Reply

