Zimmerman Draws Attention to Crazy Florida Laws

When the words “Not Guilty” were uttered after the George Zimmerman trial, gasps of disbelief were heard all around the world. Although, many had very different views on the subject, it seemed to be an agreed upon fact that he shot and killed a young boy and for that we all assumed he would be convicted. However, what we didn’t take in to account was the state he was residing in, Florida. According to the New York Times, “The provision, enacted by the Florida Legislature in 2005 and since adopted by more than 20 other states, allows people who fear great harm or death to stand their ground and not retreat, even if they can safely do so.” This to me is disgusting, if a person is able to retreat safely, they should by law be required to. If a death is not necessary it should not be legal, that seems pretty logical correct?

Oh but this wasn’t the only self defense debacle in Florida. According to CBS News, Marissa Alexander was sentenced to jail after firing a WARNING SHOT towards her abusive husband. She also tried to use the Self- Defense provision that got Zimmerman off but was told there was not enough evidence proving she needed to use deadly force. So in summary, a man can shoot and kill a child and claim it was self defense, but a woman cannot shoot a gun in the air to ward off her abusive husband. Seems legit, right?

Well this had my mind going a mile a minute. Would I ever want to live in Florida after hearing all this? After uncovering a few more questionable laws I am really not so sure. Here are three of my favorite unusual Florida Laws:

1) Florida deals with its prostitution problem by giving prostitutes spending money, a five-year banishment, and a bus ticket out of town.

https://i2.wp.com/i2.minus.com/i5Qd2sek4SNR5.jpg

Yup people can get away with murder and people are paid to not prostitute themselves. Ahh the legal system. You showed them!

2) In Florida failure to tell your neighbor his house is on fire is illegal.

    Singing “Burn baby Burn” is the preferred tactic.

3) Nudity is banned, with the exception of “bona fide” theatrical performances. Violating this ordinance results in a $100 fine.

Aww you cannot tell me these law makers didn’t snicker and say “boner fide” when they wrote this one!

So tell me bloggers. Are there any other funny Florida laws you know about?

10 thoughts on “Zimmerman Draws Attention to Crazy Florida Laws

  1. It is illegal to sell your children in Florida.

    I don’t know that this is so much a dumb or crazy law, but it does beg the question of how rampant child sales were that it was necessary to put a law on the books prohibiting it. Were people slapping price stickers on their kids and putting them out at yard sales? Did they have spare babies they were unloading for 5 or 10 bucks a piece? Is there a Child & Toddler section on Miami’s Craigslist? Why does what’s common sense everywhere else need a law in Florida?

  2. Well, having lived in Florida for 20 years Shae, I can tell you this.

    It’s one of the strangest places I’ve ever lived when comes to the law. Where they SHOULD be strict, they aren’t. And where they are OVERLY strict, they shouldn’t be.

    Don’t get me wrong, I enjoyed my time living in Florida. However, many of the laws there don’t make sense.

    Another FAB post topic, girl!

    X

    • I lived in Florida for such a short time but I was sheltered by the Disney way of doing this. I am glad to see someone who has lived there who sees how crazy they are! Thanks for the confirmation!

  3. I think that you have to hold a massage license in Florida to have a Reiki practice where you charge for the service. If you know anything at all about massage and anything at all about Reiki, then you would know there is nothing similar about them. I don’t get it. I think that you can do it on a volunteer basis. I don’t know how one would get around the law though if you wanted to have a business featuring that modality. Maybe not charge a specific listed fee but take tips instead??

  4. This ticks me off. I’ve never been to Florida, and I know little about the state (I’m from the other coast), but from what you describe I’d be angry all the time living there.
    Guess I’m angry here too, though, what with inflated prices for practically everything and shitty government leadership…

  5. Disco inferno I’m pretty sure explains the judicial system in FL. But that takes away me becoming a hooker in FL, or windmilling for $. I honestly think ppl are wrong, CA & TX don’t need to leave. It should be FL! Then again NC does have some screwed up laws, such as gun owners can carry in and around playgrounds, some state buildings… But playgrounds?! Common folks, they gotta be kidding! Time to move to Canada eh?

Leave a Reply

