Leave Paula Deen Alone!

This topic has been rolling over and over in my head since the story broke. When I first heard about Paula Deen and the trouble she has gotten herself into, I was appalled. I first learned the story from various social media mediums and the information I got was limited. I would see statuses or tweets like “Paula Deen is racist,” “Paula Deen uses N- word and loses show,” stuff like that. As much as I enjoyed her food and thought she was an awesome T. V personality the statuses and tweets did not seem to leave any room for sympathy..until I heard the whole story.

Paula Deen

For those who have not heard the WHOLE story, I want to give you a cliff notes version. Paula Deen’s restaurant in Savannah, Georgia is being sues for racial discrimination and harassment. Paula is not personally responsibility for the suit but she owns the restaurant so she is part of the law suit and was deposed. In her deposition they asked her if she ever told racial jokes or used the N- Word. According to CNN this is a transcript of that part of the deposition:

Jackson lawyer: “Miss Deen, have you told racial jokes?”

Deen: “No, not racial.”

Jackson lawyer: “Have you ever used the ‘N word’ yourself?”

Deen: “Yes, of course.”

Deen testified that she probably used the racial slur when talking to her husband about “when a black man burst into the bank that I was working at and put a gun to my head.”

“I didn’t feel real favorable towards him,” she said, referring to the robber.

Jackson lawyer: “Have you used it since then?”

Deen: “I’m sure I have, but it’s been a very long time.”

Deen said she couldn’t remember other contexts in which she used the slur, but “maybe in repeating something that was said to me.”

“But that’s just not a word that we use as time has gone on,” she said. “Things have changed since the ’60s in the South. And my children and my brother object to that word being used in any cruel or mean behavior.”

 

The one thing that really sticks out at me is how this happened years ago, likely before my lifetime. As Paula Deen explained it was a different time then and frankly she lived in the deep south where things like this were more common. She was under oath and she told the truth. Why is she losing her entire empire for that? She could have easily lied on the stand and the world would have stood by her side. That is a twisted world we live in.

I am 100 % against racism but I do not think Paula Deen deserves all of the flack she is getting. I think our Country is trying so hard to look not racist that we are demonizing a woman who told the truth on the stand and admitted to at one time being a product of her time. I am sure if asked many women who grew up in the same time and environment as her would admit to the same. Maybe instead of ruining her life we should commend her for her honesty and her changing views. Paula admits to growing with the times, maybe the world can be a little more open-minded as well.

So bloggers I turn to you, how do you feel about the Paula Deen spectacle? Do you believe she should have lost her empire for this?

18 thoughts on “Leave Paula Deen Alone!

  1. Every one of us has been raised a certain way, everyone of us has been raised in a different time. If we were all held accountable in court for offensive things said whether it be racial or any type of slander, then everyone of us would have seen the inside of a court room… Great blog Shae!

  2. Awesome blog!! In reply to your
    question, no I don’t think she deserves to have lost a thing. In this crazy celebrity world you can cheat on your spouse openly and it’s accepted. You can be a habitual drug user and flunk out of rehab consistently and it’s ok. You can steal of even stomp on the American flag and nothing is said. A lot of rap songs contain the N word. A lot of African Americans call each other the N word but we turn the other cheek. And Paula was right when she said she invites the first person to cast a stone who has never said something that they shouldn’t have. This world is full of hypocritical bulls*%#.

  3. If I was judged on everything I have ever said, thought or done at various points in my life, things probably wouldn’t look too favorable for me either. We live, we learn, we grow and hopefully learn tolerance, acceptance, compassion and love along the way. I am not the same person I was 20 years ago, and I’m sure Paula isn’t either. Leave her alone!

  4. My brother and I were JUST talking about this topic on the phone last week.

    I agree…Paula does not deserve all the flack she is getting. The media is blowing this WAY out of proportion.

    I live a city that is heavily populated with African-Americans. My closest and dearest friend is African- American. And I have witnessed more inner prejudice and name-calling amongst themselves.

    Great post topic, Shae!

    Have a supa’ week, girl!

    • I don’t know if you have seen Bill Cosby’s latest on this topic but it is very close to what you said. Within racial communities is where the heart of the problem seems to lay lately.

  5. With all the truly major things going on in this world this Paula Deen situation doesn’t even bear minor scrutiny by the media. What do they want next for this woman? The death penalty? Get over it people. There are more important things going on in this world now and things that happened in the past can’t be changed.

    Lee
    Wrote By Rote

  6. LOVE! I have been completely appalled by this whole thing. Why is some celebrity “bad behavior” allowed accepted and even approved of, for our entertainment half the time, but this is such a hard line? You made some great points Shae.

    • Exactly. Why the double standard? Is it because she makes her living being a southern woman and the media already has pre-conceived notions about the beliefs of southern women?

  7. This if mind-blowingly ridiculous! to judge this woman or anyone on a single word is insane. political correctness has gotten so out of control in this country. I find it quite ironic that the very word that they are judging her on describes them so well…..Nigger:(noun) a person of any race or origin regarded as contemptible, inferior, IGNORANT, etc. Leave this poor woman alone! and remember next time you judge anyone, first make sure that your perfect in everyway

  8. Someone asked me what I thought about the Paula Deen deal and I just shrugged. I’m so out of the loop (by choice) that I had no clue who or what they were referring to. Now I know!
    And I agree with your readers–different time, different era…we went from the “N” word to the other N word to ‘black’ to ‘African American’ and back to ‘black’ again…I think–though it’s culturally sensitive to ASK which is preferred apparently. *sigh*
    Honestly, we all have things we’ve said in our lifetime that we’d be hard pressed to say in the present day. We know more, things evolve–and hopefully we evolve with them. I hope I’ve atoned for those crass moments I’ve had–and for the ones that I’ll STILL have cuz I don’t do this deal perfectly either. How silly are we to expect us to know “50 years later…”
    at that culturally ‘acceptable’ moment in time.
    Hand me the crystal ball, please! :-/

    • So well said Mel. Society changes and evolves every day we cannot be expected to know the right thing to say for every generation. I think it was commendable for her to be honest and admit that she has changed since then…why couldnt the media leave it at that?

Leave a Reply

