Burger King Delivers?

Ok so I had heard rumors that fast food restaurants like Burger King and Mcdonalds were toying with the idea of delivery. I however was never informed that this idea actually came to fruition. However, searching the web I came across Burger King’s website with this link:

http://bkdelivers.com/participating-stores.html

Seriously?! So not only is America going to remain one of the most overweight countries but we are really holding down the fort as one of the laziest countries as well. In my opinion, if we are going to stuff our face with the amount of fat, grease and sodium that is packed into these meals then at the very least we should be required to take the walk to our car and the walk back up to the office- there are already drive thru’s so its not like we have to go in the place!

As a girl who lived most of my high school infatuated with the salty fries at Mcdonalds along with the two cheeseburger meal I have to say I am not impressed with this change. Going to places like this should NOT be convenient. Based on the prices and convenience alone people will begin making places like this a nightly routine. Has no one seen “Supersize Me?”

So here is my plea- Burger King- customers will come to you based on your prices and deliciousness alone- but please make us work for it. After a meal at your establishment we need to make that walk to the car to assure that we still can. None of us want to turn out to be another star in a documentary about how fast food ruined our lives. So please make the lazy and impressionable people like me work for our Burger King- because trust me we will.

18 thoughts on “Burger King Delivers?

  1. WOW! I had not heard this about Burger King delivering, so thank you for sharing. Isn’t is something how everything is turning into fast, convenient, and instant gratification?

    I’m not much of a fast food person myself. In fact, I can’t even remember the last time I ate at a Burger King or McDonald’s. However, as a teenager I had a part time job at McDonald’s during the summer and I have to say…I LOVE their fries!

    Welcome back! Great to see you posting again. Have a great week!

  2. I was just treated to a look at pictures of a McDonald’s that recently burned down. The pictures were taken before the fire, which started BEHIND a fryer. The amount of grease and fat on the walls and floors, and clinging to the inside of the hood and ducts was sickening. It’s enough to make you never want to eat there again. Could it be that their master plan is to deliver the grease to you, so you never have to see the build up in the store??

    Welcome back, Kiddo! We missed you.

  3. Hi,
    It was a lovely surprise this morning when you commented on my post, welcome back. 🙂
    I’m not a Burger King or McDonald’s customer, I don’t particularly like their food, but there is an upside to this in the sense that it has given some people a job that my be desperately needed.
    But I do agree with you, people need to be sensible when eating food like this.

  4. Good to hear from you again! We rarely go to a BK or McD’s unless we are on vacation and desperate. It’s sort of surprising it took them this long to make fast food faster, since most of pizza seems to be delivered. I agree with you though that it certainly doesn’t help the health of America.

  5. I hadn’t heard that. I know alot of places have delivery services, which is certainly good for those who don’t drive or are really in need (like getting prescriptions filled or even for basic groceries) and who hasn’t had a pizza delivered now and then. But for places like BK and McD’s, etc. it’s definitely becoming too much. I don’t frequent FF restaurants, just the very occasional craving for some fries, so I have no need to use delivery for that.

  6. Had not heard of this either, but it is down right pathetic. For some who can’t get out and such I can see, but it will be more the regular joe who sits on their butt in front of the tv that orders it and just get lazier and fatter.

  7. As I think about this some more, I have to wonder…. is there a reason that there has never been delivery services for burgers. Pizza delivery is usually around 30 minutes. Ever had a 30 minute old burger from McDonald’s? YUCK! I think it starts to congeal in about 10 minutes. How about thick shakes? The air starts to escape after about 15 minutes and you are left with a cup containing a pseudo-milk-like substance. A Happy Meal that isn’t eaten within about 5 minutes goes SAD.

    If you tip the driver, is it a gratuity or a disposal fee?

    On another note, if the driver spills your coffee in HIS lap, does HE get to sue for a MILLION dollars? Or is this just handled as a workman’s comp case?

  8. Wow. Another brilliant idea by Burger King. I remember, back when I was in high school, they played around with having waiters and menus. You could go in and sit down and order right from your seat. But the fancy-shmansy approach didn’t fool anyone and BK swiftly abandoned the whole thing.

    I’m scared this new dumb idea will work out much better for them.

  9. I didn’t know Burger King had a delivery service now. Rather sad the way junk food is becoming more and more prevalent.

  10. I couldn’t agree more. Since I saw Supersize Me, I’ve only eaten fast food a handful of times. It really affected me. We are indeed a fat, lazy country. What next? Will the delivery person shove fries into customers’ mouths?

  11. **grin** I promise not to go to Burger King in the near future–OR to let them deliver out here in the woods. We do have a BK in town which I very occasionally visit to eat Hershey Sundae Pie. Please do not share the fat or calories which are hiding in it. Great blog!

  12. As a Hispanic, I like the idea of delivery from these fast food places. Not so much so for the convenience, but because like most Hispanic cars, mine doesn’t have a driver’s side window that rolls down, making drive thru’s a real pain! Nice post btw! On a serious note, I’m sure this only makes the fast food industry that much more profitable. Now then can add on a delivery charge and an online ordering charge…

  13. partly I have to agree with what you’re saying but at the same time I think every person should be responsible for himself or herself. you don’t have to choose the delivery variant if you don’t want to but sometimes you’ll maybe need the variant. I myself don’t visit those fast food restaurants too often because I can cook 🙂 but yeah, everyone should think about their health and body and maybe even try cooking something or visiting another restaurant or cafe. oh and fast food delivery is not new at all in my country. it’s just stupid to spend on that, hehe 😛
    btw, I also wanted to thank you for the comment in my blog.

    Maiken,
    Maikeni blogi – part of me

Leave a Reply

