Bathroom Rant!

I want to start this post by saying that this is a personal rant and if you are not interested in my complaining stop reading here. If you continue to read- well you have been warned.

I should also note that I am a VERY socially awkward person. That being said I believe I am not the only person who shares this pet- peeve.

Let me set the scene for you. You walk into a public bathroom. For the sake of argument lets say its a bathroom at a movie theater. Now lets be clear this was not at the opening of Twilight or any other blockbuster favorite. This bathroom trip is during a regular movie at a regular movie time. The bathroom has PLENTY of open stalls:

As the socially awkward person I am (or you are in this scenario) you walk all the way to the back of the bathroom. You dont pick the last stall but you are pretty near the end of the line. All empty stalls surround you. You get ready to start doing your business when you hear the door lock in the stall directly next to you and are greeted by a pair of feet staring at you, waiting for you to do your business, ready to judge you:

Now I have wracked my brain as to why people do this. My only conclusion as it is somehow connected to the urge people get to sit near other people in a relatively empty restaurant. If you don’t know what I am talking about take it from a waitress. People will walk into a restaurant with empty tables staring them in the face. However, they pass over these perfectly good tables to sit down at a table right next to a group of full tables. This means they are purposely surrounding themselves with endless chatter they are not apart of. The choice baffles me but it happens every time without fail.

I cant figure out if we as people are just so afraid of being alone that we crave even the presence of strangers. Or if we are just so oblivious to our surroundings that we cant recognize how weird the actions seem to those around us. Either way when I am in the bathroom trying to tinkle I would really prefer to do this alone, without feet staring at me, judging me. So next time you are in a public bathroom looking for the perfect stall, please dont pick the one next to me!

14 thoughts on “Bathroom Rant!

  1. hahahahahaha I never thought about it before but you are right when people go in they always choose the table or stall or whatever where others are around. Weird, I wouldn’t want to hear someone go, or have someone hear me go. Not that I like public washrooms any way too germy..haha

  2. Well, I always go to the first stall…….I read a few years ago that it is the least likely to be used one, (and therefore, the most clean) because people unconsciously think that the first one is the MOST used……however, after the news article came out, I wonder how many people read it and now use the first one like I do??

    I think we both think too much about this crap – LOL!

  3. The best thing you can do in that situation is slowly raise your own feet high enough so that the other feet can’t really get a good look at you anymore. Might help a little, anyway…

  4. This bathroom dynamic is a bit troubling. I can understand wanting connection (or to somehow feel connected) with others in a restaurant or movie theatre. When I go out alone, I prefer to be near others. But when I got potty, that’s my business alone.

  5. haha, to be honest I’m opposite to this. I really enjoy picking a table in the middle of emptiness, no people around me. for an example I really don’t like when children scream and whine while being in the restaurants, it’s so annoying. oh, and when there aren’t too many people around me they don’t have to guess why am I photographing my meal 😀

    Maiken/
    Maikeni blogi – part of me

  6. This is totally true!! Ahh I always go to the last stall or close to it, & that always happens!! never thought of it like that tho that’s too funny

  7. I totally agree with this. It really bothers me. That, and when someone has to sit next to you or directly in front of you in an empty movie theater. Why???

  8. You should have been born a guy it’s unthinkable to use the Urinal right next to somebody unless absolutely necessary. I’ve seen guys wait if theres 3 usinals and two are occupied, elbow room is important.

Leave a Reply

