Stuffed Shells!

Its been a really long time since I did a recipe post so I thought it was time  shared something the boyfriend and I had lately. I found this recipe on the “Cooking on the Side” blog. The recipe is for Sausage and Spinach stuffed shells.

Generally I am really not a fan of sausage but in this recipe it was actually really good! Sadly, when I went to the grocery store I forgot to write down spinach so we made sausage stuffed shells but it still turned out really well!

First you gotta boil the shells!

 

While you boil the shells you gotta prep the stuffing 🙂

Doesnt that look yummy?

 

Cutting!

 

Try the recipe for yourself!

Sausage & Spinach Stuffed Shells

Adapted from the Stuffed Jumbo Shells recipe on the back of the Barilla Jumbo Shells package.

Prep time: 35 min | Cook time: 30 min | Total time: 1 hr 5 min

INGREDIENTS:

  • 12-ounce package jumbo shell pasta
  • 1 pound Italian sausage
  • 2 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
  • 6 ounces baby spinach, chopped
  • 1 cup finely chopped onion
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
  • 1/8 teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • 1 egg
  • 15-ounce package part-skim ricotta cheese
  • 1/4 cup freshly grated Parmigiano cheese
  • 3 cups marinara sauce
  • 1 cup shredded mozzarella cheese

DIRECTIONS:

  1. Preheat the oven to 350°F.
  2. Cook jumbo shells according to package directions; drain, reserving 1/3 cup of the pasta cooking water.
  3. Meanwhile, cook Italian sausage in a large skillet over medium-high heat 7-10 minutes or until no longer pink, stirring occasionally. Drain grease.
  4. Add oil, spinach, onion, garlic, reserved pasta water; continue cooking 10 minutes, stirring occasionally. Remove from heat.
  5. Add seasonings and blend well. Let mixture cool.
  6. Combine egg, ricotta and Parmigiano cheese in a large bowl. Mix in sausage mixture.
  7. Pour 1 cup of the marinara sauce into a 13×9 inch baking dish.
  8. Fill jumbo shells with meat and cheese mixture; place in dish. Pour remaining sauce over shells; sprinkle mozzarella cheese over the top, cover with foil. (If you have more filled shells than will fit in your baking dish, you can always freeze the extra).
  9. Bake for 30 minutes or until thoroughly heated.

This is NOT my recipe and all credit goes to : http://cookingontheside.com/sausage-spinach-stuffed-shells/

Let me know if you guys decide to try it!

10 thoughts on “Stuffed Shells!

  1. Shae, this recipe LOOKS and SOUNDS faaaaaaaaaaaabulous!

    And being Italian, I ADORE stuffed shells, especially with spinach.

    Like you, I’m not a big fan of sausage, but I trust your opinion that it tastes great in this recipe. I can just picture myself eating these shells with a nice side salad and a glass of red wine – YUM-MY!

    Thanks so much for sharing, girl! Enjoy the rest of your week!

    X

  2. Mmm… looks yummy!
    I haven’t made stuffed shells in awhile. I don’t think I’ve ever made them with sausage, probably because I prefer ground beef. I’m sure hubby would love these!
    Barilla pastas are good too.

Leave a Reply

