Rihanna/ Chris Brown: Should we be ok with their collaboration?

This post was inspired but an article on HelloGiggles titled “I’m not okay with Chris Brown performing at the Grammys and I am not sure why you are.” As I warning many of my posts may be inspired from this site in the future as it really does cover alot of topics that I enjoy reading about. I am not a Chris Brown or a Rihanna fan but I came across this blog and it really caught my attention.

 

       The article discusses how Chris Brown is slated to be at the Grammy’s despite his domestic abuse charge against him from Rihanna. The blogger feels that because he convicted of domestic abuse he should not be allowed to preform at events such at this. Events such as this are a privledge and by allowing him to do it we, the audience, are- to use her words “are accepting the message that women just aren’t that important.”

This article really had my mind reeling. The author cited alot of celebrities who really didn’t seem to have much to say in defense of Rihanna and on first read this was really alarming. I am all for women’s rights and I would be the first to come to the defense of a girl who has been abused- no one deserves that- ever. However, in the case of Rihanna and Chris Brown I find it really hard to pick sides.

The day after I read this article I found out that Rihanna and Chris Brown are collaborating on a new song “Birthday Cake” Chris Brown raps about wanting to “give it to her in the worst way.” This information really made me realize why people really didn’t come to her defense. Rihanna is not defending herself in this scenario! Rihanna is taking back a guy in her life who abused her and she is helping forward his career. Not only that but she is allowing him to insert lyrics borderline dergatory towards her in her own song!

In this case I have to say that I think we need to back off from Chris Brown even though my instinct is to want to hate him. I find it hard to victimize a girl who doesn’t help herself. if Rihanna is truly hurt by him and afraid of him then she needs to take a step back from him and let us know she needs help and support. Until she does that I find it hard to punish for Chris Brown for something Rihanna seems to have forgiven him for.

What do you guys think? Should we hate Chris Brown for what he did or should we move on?

6 thoughts on “Rihanna/ Chris Brown: Should we be ok with their collaboration?

  1. My feeling is that Rihanna can handle it how she wants. Regardless, I am not okay with violence against women or it’s perpetrators. I didn’t watch the Grammy’s because he performed and I won’t be purchasing any albums he performs on.

  2. I like Chris Brown’s voice but i hate Chris Brown I mean any guy for such violence. Sometimes, I wish singers bring to real life their character, sincerity, the way they do with their songs. It’s just so hard to convince yourself that someone who’s passionate in singing a love song is not really a good lover in real life.

  3. Disturbing! I agree, it’s hard to feel sorry for someone who just goes back for more abuse, but I think that is the classic case that happens the majority of the time.

    It’s a sad state of our society that someone like Chris Brown is held up as a role model for young men, just because he makes music.

  4. We haven’t been there. We can’t really know. Letting go off someone once loved and now possibly harming… isn’t easy, yet the only thing to do. For that, the person needs solid support. A hiding place t run to. To be loved just the way they are.

  5. Being in an abusive relationship is difficult to escape, and we really don’t know the reasons why they decided to do the song together. There could have been threats, or a lot of money for both. There have been so many stars who have been elevated despite their violent pasts (Charlie Sheen). I think it is wrong for them to be put on a platform, especially in such a public sphere. But I also know I can’t control Hollywood. All I can do is control what I (and my daughter) watch.

  6. I honestly haven’t read anything specific about this, so I can’t really give a clear opinion. However, I do know several people who have been in an abusive relationship, and it’s difficult to escape. I think many of us think that it would be easy to just leave because it seems the obvious and most normal thing to do. But as Susu shared….we haven’t been there. We can’t really know.

    Great post topic, Shae!

    Have a wonderful week…..X

Leave a Reply

