Stevo vs. Station Night Club Fire

Now I want to start this off by saying I am not one of those people who get offended easily. Sometimes I think people like that get offended just so they have something to complain about. However, I was listening to the radio and heard the comment that Stevo made about the Station Night Club Fire at Charlie Sheen’s Roast on Comedy Central. For those of you who haven’t heard this is what he said:

“”The last time this many nobodies got roasted, at least the band Great White was playing”

Now I live very close to where this fire happened so I am familiar with the impact it had on the families involved. For those of you who arent familiar with the nightclub fire basically Great White was playing at a local club (Station Night Club) and because of the band’s pyrotechnics the whole place caught on fire and many got trapped and died. I did not know anyone personally who died so when I heard this comment I wasnt offended but understood how some people may be offended. This is a fresh wound and the “nobodies” Stevo refers to were innocent people, many people’s kids, family members and or friends. However, this blog is not to say I was offended about the comment because I wasnt. I do understand Stevo is a comedian and not from this area so very likely does not understand the impact a comment like that could make.

However, what I WAS mad about is what he said when people began complaining. Instead of releasing a simple apology this is what he said:

“I feel horrible about it. I initially ran the joke by some other comics, as an example of one that I wouldn’t say. Every comic that I told it to said, “You HAVE to use that joke.” So I tried it out in comedy clubs while I was practicing for the roast and it got laughs, which is why I wound up saying it at the roast. I’m so glad that the producers have already taken it out.”

Im sorry Stevo I was in your corner for a while but REALLY? Dont put this off on other comedians. If a room full of people told you to jump off a bridge would you do that to? Cmon Stevo take a little more responsibility for your actions.

 

What do you think?  Should Stevo had removed the joke from the start? Did you think his apology was adeqaute?

 

Comment me and let me know!

6 thoughts on “Stevo vs. Station Night Club Fire

  1. Did you watch the roast? There were SO MANY low low low blows that honestly that comment doesn’t seem out of place to me at all in the context of the roast.

    Also, Steve-O probably WOULD jump off a bridge if he knew it would get some laughs.

  2. I’ve not read or heard about this incident, but after reading your post, I’d have to agree wholeheartedly with you.

    “Im sorry Stevo I was in your corner for a while but REALLY? Dont put this off on other comedians. If a room full of people told you to jump off a bridge would you do that to? Cmon Stevo take a little more responsibility for your actions.”

    And yes, I definitely think he should have removed the joke from the start. It was in bad taste.

  3. You’re going to offend someone no matter what you say, as there will always be some whiner ready to jump on you, just for some attention. But yet he should have owned up to it himself, he said it, not any of the others.

    Oh and if the bridge was only two feet high, I’d jump..haha

  4. Even if it’s true that he was unsure about the joke and was encouraged to tell it by other comedians, it always kind of looks bad when someone blames their actions on others. As for the joke itself, I don’t know. I am always shocked by what they say at roasts.

  5. Come on its steveo he’d jump off a bridge if one person told him to. But seriously it doesn’t suprise me at all that he’s tring to put the blame on other people. There’s no accountability in the world anymore. I’d say not only is a REAL appology in order but a generous donation to the DOCfund as well.

Leave a Reply

