Sex Ed for Kindergarten?!?!

I was on my way to work this morning when I heard on the radio that there are now dolls in production to teach kindergartener sex education! That though alone appalled me! Kids that age should not be worried about things like sex education. They should be thinking about playing in the dirt and staining their fingers with paint.

However, when I got home and actually looked up these dolls I was even more appalled! The dolls are incredibly realistic and feature life-like private parts. Now I am not a parent so I am only working off of how I believe I will be one day when I am a mom but I don’t think I want to be explaining to my child at that age exactly how all the private parts work to make a baby. I feel this is far too young for them to even try to understand and their toys should not be feeding them questions!

What do you think of these dolls? Do you think kindergarten is too soon?

10 thoughts on “Sex Ed for Kindergarten?!?!

  1. This reminds me (I think was back in the mid to lates 80’s) when those ANATOMICALLY correct dolls came out. OMG…they looked so real it was spooky!

    I’m all for being honest and natural about sex, but I have to agree with you 100% on this. Kindergarten is waaaaaay too soon.

    Hope you had a super day! Enjoy the rest of your week!

  2. Personally, the string tethering the baby to the doll’s vagina is priceless.

    Horribly priceless.

    Though, this is totally ridiculous. I whole-heartily agree that this is waaaaay too soon. Way. 100%.

  3. YIKES! I do think that is too young. I think that you should should explain boundaries in some way, and maybe which areas are “private” and gradually get more in-depth and less vague as the child grows, but I think once they hit 5 or 6 grade that is when things need to start getting serious. I mean, I had a boyfriend in 5th grade, but we didn’t talk to each other (I was too afraid) so there was really nothing to worry about in my sense. Plus I was so scared of having kids and just growing up that *sex before marriage is wrong* that I prevented that action for as long as possible! (I do believe you should wait, though I know that seems like an old-fashion theory – but I think kids should at least be ENCOURAGED to wait!!!)

  4. Oh, my! These dolls look creepy! Yup, I think exposing kindergartener to sex ed is wayyyy to soon! Maybe wait till they are 11 or 12 before explaining the birds and bees to them.

    Thanks for stopping by my blog today!

    P/S: Come enter my giveaway for a chance to win a $50 gift certificate from My Urban Child (BONUS: plus two other websites to choose from to spend your $50 if you win).

    http://www.mixandchic.com/2011/09/giveaway-my-urban-child.html

    Don’t miss it! Have a wonderful week!

    Jessie
    http://www.mixandchic.com

  5. I don’t know because I am not a mom, so I don’t know if kindergarteners are asking questions about sex yet. However, those dolls are definitely creepy. And I know this may be totally inappropriate, but now I totally want to buy them as gifts for my friends.

  6. As a mother, I think that is WAY too young. You’re right. When they are that little they are concerned about learning colors and numbers. Their little minds can’t even grasp the concept of sex.

    I will be honest with my daughter, but not until she hits an age where puberty is nigh and the other girls start talking about it. Then she’ll get the facts. But I guarantee that it will not involve those awful dolls.

  7. This may be a way to protect children from sexual preddetors who pray on them that young. Also I personally think that most people are to prudish and that has lead to the iggnorance that infests most of the past couple of generations where more and more people are having kids between the ages of 14-18 when they should still be growing up. Now kidnergarten may be to young but what kids in kidnergarten weren’t playing house or doctor and immitating things they may have seen on tv or even at home. You’d be suprised what children that young can understand.

  8. I think they’d be better off with anatomically correct dolls that look the way kids look – not adults. Kids of that age are more interested in themselves than their parents 🙂

  9. I think Kindergarten is way to soon to have sex education. Let them be kids. My son is in Kinder, and I would not want him to come home one day saying that he knows about the penis entering the vagina and babies coming out of the vagina….please!!!

Leave a Reply

