Mystery Bug

On our house hunting adventures, the boyfriend and I encountered one of the dreaded inhabitants of these old houses: spiders. Since I am not a fan of spiders or basically anything crawling under my feet I generally let him do the basement inspections of these houses. This particular house was very old and from the interior design looked like it had not really been taken care of since the 50s.

Anyways, the boyfriend gets a flashlight from the realtor (electricity had been shut off) and he makes his way down the stairs. About five steps down I hear him yell “AGGHHH what IS that? Babe come down here!”. Reluctantly I poked my head into the dark stairwell and came face to face with the strangest thing I had ever seen. It was like something out of a horror movie.

The entire drive back the boyfriend was going on and on about how this was like nothing he has ever seen before. He explained that it was furry on its joints but had totally transparent legs but his body was entirely white. He blew on it and it moved so he was entirely sure it was alive. I only got a quick glance (thank goodness) but it was something I would never like to see again.

After we got home we did some online research to figure out what it was and we only could find this page:

http://www.whatsthatbug.com/2007/02/20/unknown-unusual-spider-or-fungus-infection/

Basically telling us that we found a spider close to death due to fungus growing all over it. The boyfriend is not convinced but this picture is the only one that depicts our unknown spider.

Anyone have an idea what it could be? All I know is its creepy!!

9 thoughts on “Mystery Bug

  1. OH.MY.GOD.!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    You should have seen me while I was reading this post – I suddenly lifted my feet off the floor and then JUMPED!

    If you only knew how freaked I get when I see a spider you would be amazed. I act like a little sissy mary! And not only spiders, but palmetto bugs (water bugs) too. I can handle snakes, mice, rats, bats, you name it, but a spider or water bug? I FLIP OUT!!!!!

    Anyway, that is a very interesting photo of the spider your boyfriend saw. It looks like an albino spider. Or even the ghost of a dead spider – HA!

    Have a great rest of your weekend!

  2. Oh wow. Reading this on my way to bed, all I can say is it better not show up in my dreams tonight. Yuck! Hope you never come across anything like this in your house again!

  3. Did you ever find out what type of spider this is? I have found multiple in my basement and it is creeping me out…

  4. Howdy! I realize this is sort of off-topic but I had to ask.
    Does building a well-established blog like yours take a massive amount work?

    I’m brand new to running a blog but I do write in my diary on a daily basis.
    I’d like to start a blog so I will be able to share my personal experience and views online.
    Please let me know if you have any recommendations or tips for new aspiring blog
    owners. Appreciate it!

Leave a Reply

