Black Swan

One of the movies I was rather disappointed in recently was “Black Swan”.

I found the movie on a list of top psychological thrillers so was really anxious and excited to see it. Before watching it all I knew was that it was a thriller and it revolved around a ballet dancer.

The movie stars Natalie Portman and Mila Kunis as two dancers in a company trying out for the role of the swan queen. Natalie Portmans character is innocent and this trait can be seen in her dancing and as such has a difficult time trying to dance the part for the provocative side of the Swan Queen, The Black Swan. Mila Kunis is a free spirit who enjoys clubbing and ecstasy and is shown as the ideal role for the Black Swan. A bond forms between the girls and the thriller aspect of the movie is Portman’s character’s struggle to become the Black Swan and the way it really affects her life.

       

The movie is definitely visually appealing! This is one thing I came away from the movie really impressed by. The costumes, the sets, the make up, and the scene transitions were flawless.

The problem with the movie was the confusing plot. It got to the point that by the end of the movie I didn’t care what the outcome was I just wanted the movie to end. To top it off the end leaves you unsatisfied and annoyed.

For one of the top psychological thrillers- I was less than impressed.

SNL did a skit for this movie and I gotta say they did a pretty good job.

What did you think of this movie?

5 thoughts on “Black Swan

  1. Bwhahahahahahahahahahaha!

    OMG, the SNL clip was absolutely BRILLIANT! Jim Carey was a RIOT!!!!

    And I have to agree with you about Black Swan 100%. I wanted SO BAD to love this movie because I had heard such great things about it. And I did love certain things (all the things you mentioned), but it was kinda how I felt about Inception…I had NO idea what was going on. Was what she was experiencing for real or was it just in her mind?!?!

    Yeah, VERY confusing.

    I think my favorite character in the movie was actually Mila Kunis character. I LOVED her acting!

    Great review! Thanks for sharing.

    And welcome back!

  2. I still haven’t seen it. Afraid of disappointment as well. I totally know what you’re talking about just wanting it to end. That’s how a felt about Secretariat (which came highly recommended by my family). That horse could have dropped dead and I would have felt literally nothing. Poor movie.

  3. I haven’t seen the movie, but thoroughly enjoyed the SNL skit, thanks for sharing! It’s late here – glad to end the day with a laugh. 🙂

  4. That clip was so funny! I did like the movie because it was the inner battle of Nina growing up. Everything in her life, especially her mom, revolved around innocence and purity. She had to learn to embrace her wild side to earn the role of the black swan, but in order to do that she had to let go of her innocence, which was so difficult for her it led her to go insane and eventually commit suicide. I thought it was brilliant, tho maybe a tad overrated. But Natalie Portman gave such a fantastic performance I think that’s why it became so talked about.

Leave a Reply

