Fight Club

One of the things I love about being basically done with college is all the time I have to read. Recently, I was able to finish the book Fight Club. The movie was something I saw years after it came out on DVD and I must say I was very surprised at how much I liked it. When I thought of Fight Club before seeing it all I thought of was the violence and the clear manhood references that would be littered throughout the movie. I didn’t think there would be anything to keep a girl like me interested. I was wrong.

The movie follows an unreliable narrator Tyler Durden, through the course of his every day life. He explains that he has trouble sleeping and goes to support groups for all life threatening diseases to give himself the release he needs to sleep. The book goes on to explain how he and his friend develop a fight club and the progression of the fight club.

The book goes a bit more in depth and lets you see more into the narrators mind. The book also gives you a bit more hints as to whats going on as well as the relationship with Marla Singer. As a rule, I generally find the books better than the movies and this is no exception. Even just the wording of some passages made the book overall more interesting.

The movie didn’t do well at the box office, but has since become a cult classic. Fight clubs have popped up all over the United States and in 2009 it is said that a 17 year old was charged with detonating a homemade bomb- trying to recreate Project Mayhem. (http://gawker.com/5315376/starbucks-bomber-apprehended-project-mayhem-thwarted?tag=fightclub)

This movie/ book pair has also spawned many references in all different types of media. The one I most recently saw was a reference in the TV Show Bones- most specifically “The Woman in the Sand”.

How have you seen this movie/book impact our society if at all?

6 thoughts on “Fight Club

  1. ” before seeing it all I thought of was the violence and the clear manhood references that would be littered throughout the movie. I didn’t think there would be anything to keep a girl like me interested. I was wrong.”

    Meeeeee too! Normally, I’m not really into movies like this, but I gotta say….I REALLY liked it. I saw it while over at a friends house one night, when her boyfriend had it on. I was very impressed with the ‘depth’ and ‘layers’ to the story.

    I didn’t even realize it was a book first. I usually like books better too, but I have seen books turned into movies that were excellent!

    Great review! Makes me wanna watch again!

    Hope you’re having a FAB weekend!

  2. I’ve never seen it! Also, always thought it was stupid and all about fighting, also because my cousin started some sort of club like this after watching it so I thought that it was not healthy for teens! Ha, so never watched it. Probably need to give it a shot. Thanks for visiting my blog!

  3. I did see this movie and had forgotten about it, but did not read the book. My perception probably does not follow the author’s intent. As I recall the movie left a lot to the viewer’s imagination to determine whether the narrator’s delusions had invented an entire alter-ego or whether it was indeed real.

    or maybe I just didn’t quite get it. that’s possible too.

    I just wanted to respond to your comment about the woven paper art ~ I didn’t have any patterns or instructions to go by and even though it IS time consuming, I completed the project in 2 evenings (after work). It’s doable for anyone. take care 🙂 diane

  4. Ah, I remember this movie. Great the first time you watch it. Horrifying the second. The first time you’re trying to figure out what will happen. The second time you already know and all that’s left is blood, gore, profanity, and a rather violent view toward women.

    I love the movie and I hate it. It’s confusing for me…

  5. When this first came out, I’d wanted to see it but never did. After a while I came to the conclusion I wasn’t that interested (like you)…but after your post I think I do want to watch it! Or maybe just read the book…

Leave a Reply

