Want to smell like an Expensive Hooker?

So it has come to my attention  that Lady Gage is releasing a fragrance. Now given my last post about fragrances you are all well aware that I am all for spritzing on that smell of your choice at any time in any venue. However I was further informed that this fragrance that Lady Gaga plans to put out will smell like blood and semen and may even be named Hotel Mattress. Now given that my information was from a re-run of SNL I decided that before I get all outraged and confused I needed to do some internet research on the matter and get some facts. I then came across this very disturbing interview that really just iced the angry cake for me:

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2011/02/25/lady-gaga-perfume-blood-semen_n_828273.html#ooid=13cHIxMjoSp1-ciFb8LiuG1cMSZLkS6b

After listening to that interview I was even more upset. To start with who in their right mind would want to smell like an expensive hooker? The smells that come to mind here are of cigarette smoke and that after sex smell that most people do everything to wash off. I am not sure I would be buying a bottle of that for any reason whatsoever.

On top of that she included a sample of her own blood?!?! For what reason? She herself admits that there is no smell to be had there- so why exactly include it in a fragrance??? I cant seem to understand the rational behind any of this and am beginning to wonder if this might all be done for a shock factor? I mean would they really allow a celeb to sell something with their blood included? I feel like this can have all sorts of problems- people may be buying more than they bargained for especially if she believes its a good marketing ploy to tell people they can smell like an Expensive Hooker.

So what do you guys think? Is this just a ploy to create a little bit of outrage from her little monsters or should we be looking for “Hotel Mattress” (or whatever the real name of this perfume is) in stores soon?

6 thoughts on “Want to smell like an Expensive Hooker?

  1. Thank you SO MUCH for posting this because being someone who is in the beauty industry, so many customers are coming into my store; asking about this perfume and if we carry it. I knew nothing about it?!

    Oddly enough, the bottle is shaped exactly like Christian Dior’s J’adore – I can’t believe they didn’t call Lady Gaga on that!

    Yup, I definitely think it’s a ploy to create a bit of outrage – shock value.

    Thanks for posting this. I can’t wait to actually smell this stuff.

  2. It’s Lady Gaga! If she marketed anything less than something outrageous, it wouldn’t fit her image.

    My first reaction when I read that it’s going to include her actual blood, was heaven help anyone who catches a “disease” from it.

  3. Honestly why are you looking for rational in anything that lady gaga does that like being suprised about anything charlie sheen says. As far as the blood goes who knows with her. But if you knew what some of the stuff in many fragrences is I wonder if you’d still wear it. Lol honestly the whole interview was probably her way of getting poblisity for the new fragrence and most people probably won’t care cause it’s lady gaga’s fragrance so they’ll buy it anyway. Its sad but true.

  4. I agree with the prior comment. Can we make sense of anything she does? Good post!
    I’m following you on Twitter @StyleDecor! Thanks for stopping by my blog!

  5. I feel like Lady Gaga will do anything (ANYTHING) for attention. I never get where she’s coming from, to be honest, and I think this is just another attempt on her part of shock and shake things up. I’m not huge perfume person anyway and probably wouldn’t check out her perfume anyway.

  6. Hm, yeah I’d say she’s going for shock value…I sort of hope that’s what it is because it doesn’t pass for creativity in my books. Kind of intrigued about what it smells like though. 🙂

Leave a Reply

