Sucker Punch

One movie I watched recently was “Sucker Punch”. Going into it I really didn’t have much of an idea of what it was about but I saw previews of a girl kicking butt and that pretty much was good enough for me. As an overall the movie was pretty good it was full of symbolism, the English major in me cant help but smile at that. The story basically followed a girl who lost her mother and accidentally killed her own sister the movie showed her time in the mental hospital. The thing is, everything is through her point of view and at times she is in another reality and there are even times where there is almost a dream within a dream effect. The best thing to follow the movie is to watch the symbols that keep recurring, they tend to keep you grounded in what is real so it’s easier to follow along.

The most interesting part to me was actually the opening scene. I have always been a fan of the very old black and white silent movies- I find them very powerful. When there is no dialogue you are really forced to watch the scene and the emotions really tend to grab hold of you much more aggressively. The opening scene in this movie has background music and a narrator that interjects but the only sound from the characters are sounds of exasperation or something of that nature- there is no dialogue. For me this really shows the characters dynamic and the way in which each character perceives the other and I just thought it was really well done.

The other thing I noticed was that this actually is shown to take place on a stage. This is one of the types of therapy that she has at the mental hospital but it begs the question is that what really happened? The whole movie it has to be remembered that she is in a mental hospital and could be creating stories for herself to absolve herself of all that she has done. So I have included the clip below. What do you think? Do you think this is a creation of her own mind or do you think this is the one part in the movie that is 100 percent fact?

4 thoughts on “Sucker Punch

  1. OMG, this is perhaps the COOLEST film clip I have EVER seen! It truly makes me want to see this movie! I love how it opens in a theater, onstage.

    I would guess it’s a combination of both. Partially fact, and partially a creation of her own mind.

    Kinda reminds me of the movie Inception.

    And I have to agree with you….there is nothing like black and white silent films. And for the reasons who shared. I went through a period of watching all the old Charlie Chaplin films and found myself often crying at particular scenes, simply because of the emotions expressed on the screen. And NO dialogue.

    Thank you for sharing this film. I will watch it soon!

  2. I’ve wanted to see this movie but haven’t gotten around to it. It looks great I love movies that mess with your perception of reality so I can’t wait. Plus it looks like a kick ass movie.

  3. It looks interesting! My hubby saw it and said it was made to appeal to people who are into videogames (which he is) – very visually rich and stylized. I must say, it looks a bit dark for me, but I enjoyed watching the clip you posted!

Leave a Reply

