Leave work at work!

As most of my blog readers know I just recently began a new job. Now this job is especially stressful because it is out of my element. For my first few jobs out of college I have worked in the legal field (hoping to eventually be a lawyer) however this job is in marketing. Basically I do my best to get the name of the business known in the area and try and bring in new customers. There is a learning curve for me and so the pressure seems to be a bit more than I am used to.

That being said, bringing the stress home does not help matters. I have learned in the last few weeks that the power of positive thinking really can change how you allow a situation to affect your life. When the job began I would come home stressed and needing to talk. I would then lay all the problems of my day on my boyfriend (who is also dealing with a stressful work situation). We would then proceed to have crappy nights strained with stress and tension.

Neither one of us ever questioned or devotion to each other but the stress was wearing on us. We could both see it very clearly. I knew something had to change. So I changed the way I let the day affect me.

I made the decision that when I left work, I left all the stress, anger and tension at my work desk. Each day I would leave looking forward to the night ahead, determined to not let my work come home with me. And you know what? It helped tremendously!

Our nights became fun again. We were able to laugh with each other and unwind. Just the way it should be.

I am writing this to you bloggers to give you a word of advice. Your relationship is the part of your life that will be with you day in and day out. That is the part of your life you should put the most energy into. Work is just that, work. Don’t let it consume you and affect other areas of your life. The minute you start doing that is the minute you stop really living. Positive thinking and compartmentalizing can do wondrous things for your life. Try it and enjoy your weekend!

17 thoughts on “Leave work at work!

  1. ha. i love that time of day…i hear you though…stress will eat into other areas of your life…and can def start to errode your relationship…communication is essential as well…so that your spouse understands what you are going through…i thought about doing marketing at one point….hope the adjustment evens out…starting a job is def high on the stress list…

  2. Very true indeed. I never take the crap home with me from the 9 to 5. Let it stay there and leave me alone. My hate for that place only occurs at that place haha

  3. This is great advice, Shae, and I wish I had been given this advice when I was your age. My husband and I went through some very difficult years because he came home stressed out from his job and I was already home stressed out all day from taking care of three little kids. I’d meet him at the door and pretty much vomit my stress right onto him, not thinking about how his day had gone, etc. It’s a miracle we stayed together!

    • Glad you liked them πŸ™‚

      As for the rest of your comment I really believe when we find the one we are meant for it just works out even if we aren’t treating the relationship with the care we should. That being said I think paying attention to things like this will make for many less fights!

  4. Faaaaaaaabulous post and advice, Shae! And I totally agree with you…

    “The minute you start doing that is the minute you stop really living. Positive thinking and compartmentalizing can do wondrous things for your life.”

    There has to be a balance of work and your personal life. Also, I’m someone who doesn’t socialize with the people I work with outside of work because I prefer to keep those relationships separate from my personal life.

    Have a super weekend, my friend!
    X

    P.S. As Bijoux shared, I LOVE the e-card!

    • Interesting thought. My co-worker is fast becoming a very close friend of mine and I don’t think I would want it any other way. I wonder if that is a connection I should be questioning…

  5. Thank you for these wonderful words! Sometimes it’s easier said than done. However, as you did, it’s a matter of making that conscious choice that the job will not come home with you. And the choice that relationships are far more important πŸ™‚

  6. That is true! I left my day job to write full-time, but I was stressed almost every day. It was pretty intense at times. It’s really hard to decompress, but I would try to clear all of that from my mind on the way home. I have stressful days, too, especially if I have a lot of deadlines at once.

Leave a comment